- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Master's/Doctoral Projects for OST, PT, RT, and AT
- Systematic/Scoping Reviews
Master's/Doctoral Projects for OST, PT, RT, and AT: Systematic/Scoping Reviews
Getting Started
We recently created a more detailed, step-by-step guide for systematic and scoping reviews (September, 2021). The guide includes everything on this tab plus information about research question frameworks, review methods, managing the screening process, and methods for assessing quality.
- Steps in a Review (Visual)This representation of the steps in a systematic review is a nice, visual summary of what authors do. The steps for a systematic review and a scoping review are very similar. There is also a good visual outline of a published review. Created by University of Maryland Libraries.
Read These
- Systematic review or Scoping review? Guidance for authors when choosing between a systematic or scoping review approachThis article describes the purposes of systematic reviews and scoping reviews and can help you assess which type of review is the right choice for your research.
- Learning how to undertake a systematic review, part 1Bettany-Saltikov, J. (2010). This first journal article by provides an overview of the systematic review process and how to get started.
- Learning how to undertake a systematic review, part 2Bettany-Saltikov, J. (2010). This second journal article focuses on the search strategy for a systematic review and how to present your data.
- Scoping Studies: Towards a Methodological FrameworkArksey, H. & O'Malley, L. (2005). This framework outlines a method for conducting scoping studies.
- Scoping Studies: Advancing the MethodologyLevac, D., Colquhoun, H. & O'Brien, K.K. (2010). This article clarifies and enhances the scoping methodology framework developed by Arksey & O'Malley.
Doing a Systematic Review: A Student's Guide
If you are a Masters or a PhD student conducting a systematic review for your dissertation or thesis, then this is the book for you!
Systematic Reviews in the Social Sciences
This book provides practical, step-by-step advice on conducting a systematic review and can be used for health sciences as well as social sciences.
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition
This ebook is available online 24/7. The steps for doing a systematic review described in this book apply to all health sciences disciplines.
Videos
- Systematic Searches Video SeriesThis series of videos was created by librarians at Yale University. Watch videos #1-5 and #8 to learn the fundamentals of systematic searching.
PRISMA
New PRISMA guidelines for 2020!
- PRISMAMain PRISMA webpage with links to examples and templates
- PRISMA ExamplesThis page includes a link to the updated PRISMA guidelines and explains each guideline in detail. It also includes a link to written examples that show you how to address each guideline.
"How To" Guides
These guides will help you export your results into Zotero and remove duplicates. For guides on how to do keyword searches and subject searches, refer to the Search Tips and Videos tab in this guide. For guides about installing and using Zotero, refer to the Writing & Citing tab in this guide.
There are three steps in the process of gathering all of your citations into one place so you can remove the duplicates:
- Export from the database to Zotero
- Move records from Zotero to Excel
- Remove duplicates in Excel
Export Citations from Databases
- Export EBSCO citations to ZoteroThese steps work for all EBSCO databases, including CINAHL Complete, SPORTDiscus, and others.
- Export ProQuest Citations to ZoteroThese steps will work for all ProQuest databases, including ERIC, PsycInfo, ProQuest Medical and others.
Move Citations from Zotero to Excel
- Export from Zotero to ExcelFollow these steps to export all of your citations from Zotero to Excel.
Remove Duplicate Citations
- Removing duplicates in ExcelFollow these steps to identify and remove duplicate citations.
- Last Updated: Oct 7, 2024 12:58 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/libraryresearch
