- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Library Resources for Preceptors
- Find Journal Articles
Library Resources for Preceptors: Find Journal Articles
Find Journal Articles
- 5 Minute Clinical Consult
5MinuteConsult.com helps physicians, physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, residents and other healthcare professionals provide the best patient care by delivering quick answers they can trust, when and where they need them most – at the point of care. This portal is the fastest way to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment and management of thousands of diseases.
To access the 5MinuteConsult mobile app first set up a free personal account by accessing the platform while on campus and clicking on the "Create a Free Personal Account" button on the resource homepage. Once a personal account has been created users can download and use the mobile app. To download the iOS app go to https://apps.apple.com/us/app/5-minute-clinical-consult/id301865751. To download the android app go to https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.unbound.android.cq59l&hl=en_US. - DynaMedA clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Includes clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, and provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience.
- STAT!RefThe STAT!Ref database includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and manuals. You can find Essential Evidence Plus in the menu of titles in the left-side column.
- Cochrane LibraryThis portal allows users to search several databases containing evidence-based medical resources: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Health Technology Assessments, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
- Lexicomp OnlineLexicomp Online provides point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, and other tools. The platform includes 13 databases, 7 clinical support modules, and “Facts & Comparisons” for additional comparative information.
- DynaMedDynaMed includes drug information and there are a couple of ways to find it:
1) You can enter a specific drug name in the search box.
2) You can click on Browse Categories, then click on Drugs. The individual drug summaries include warnings, interactions, patient information, and more. - STAT!RefThe STAT!Ref database includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and manuals. You can find drug resources in the menu of titles in the left-side column:
- AHFS Drug Information
- Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
- DrugPoints System
- Red Book
- Washington Manual of Medical - Therapeutics
There are a couple of ways to search:
1) You can type in a drug name in the search box and get results from all of the resources in STAT!Ref.
2) You can click on a title in the left-side column, type in the drug name in the search box, then click on the "Search within this title" link (just under the search box).
- PsycinfoPsycinfo, produced by the American Psychological Association, provides access to journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, reports, and other documents from all over the world in both English and foreign languages in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as education, criminology, psychiatry, social work, medicine, and law, back to 1887.
- Education SourceProvides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERICThe ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books.
- HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments)HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) includes information on tools for clinicians and where to find them. It covers such tools as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques in the areas of health sciences, psychology and social sciences. There are ten concurrent users for this database.
Many databases include the full text articles. When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see that link, you should see another option for finding the full text, for example: "Get it @ GVSU", "Get full text", "Check for full text". Click on the link and follow the prompts. In some cases, you may need to click on the article title to see the PDF link or other options.
We cannot accommodate resource sharing services such as Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery. However, you can request books and articles through your home library or institution.
- Finding Articles in a Specific JournalUse this guide if you want to search a particular journal or if you have a citation and need to find the full text. You can also use these same steps if the "Get It@GVSU" button doesn't work.
- Finding "Cited By" ArticlesHave you found a great article and want to see if other researchers have cited it? Follow the steps in this guide.
- Using Google ScholarThis guide shows you how to set up Google Scholar to connect to the GVSU Libraries, which will make it easier to find the full text. It also includes information on how to find newer articles that cite an older one you may have found in your searching.
- Last Updated: Oct 9, 2024 11:48 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/preceptors
