Last Updated: May 8, 2013
These databases are great for biomedical topics. If you are having trouble finding what you need in the databases on this guide, please contact Abby for suggestions and assistance.
- Alt HealthWatch
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Provides access to scholarly journal articles, reports and proceedings. 1984-present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
A robust collection of full-text of nursing and allied health journals.
- BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews covers almost every life sciences topic. This database searches scholarly journal articles, reports, reviews, meetings, patents & book content. 1926-Present.
- ProQuest Medical Library
Covers "all the major healthcare specialties, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, and others." Updated daily, with coverage dating from 1997 forward.
Evidence-based clinical information for practitioners. It provides symptoms, tests, diagnosis, and therapy for illnesses and conditions including evidence and opinions for the most recommended path.
PubMed is a highly respected, free biomedical database providing access to scholarly journal articles. An excellent resource for research in medical/health issues. 1948-present.
Contains medical reference e-books covering all aspects of medicine and allied health. It includes key references for evidence-based medicine, pharmacology, anatomy, coding and classification, diagnosis, definitions, and calculations which can all be searched simultaneously.
Materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library, covering: agricultural economics; geography; agricultural engineering; animal science; human nutrition; chemistry; life sciences; energy; plant diseases; and more.
These databases are multidisciplinary, which means they should contain information for almost any topic. If you aren't finding what you need in these databases or the Biomedical Sciences Databases, contact Sarah.
- Web of Science
This is a great multi-disciplinary database. It searches scholary journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
- Academic Search Premier
One of the first places to go to start your research. Academic Search Premier covers most subjects and searches for newspaper & magazine articles in addition to more scholarly articles available in journals.
Partial full text for Elsevier journals covering science, technology and medicine. Coverage in some cases back to 1823.