Biomedical Sciences: Home
Biomedical Sciences at GVSU
- GVSU Biomedical SciencesThe four general areas of emphasis in the Biomedical Sciences curriculum are Microbiology, Anatomy, Physiology, and Nutrition. Visit the GVSU BMS website for information about programs, faculty, and upcoming events.
I want to:
- Find peer-reviewed articles.
- Use the databases in the box to the right ==========>
- Determine if an article is peer-reviewed.
- Follow instructions for Ulrichsweb.
- Cite my sources.
- Consult our Citation Guide
GVSU Libraries HoursCurrent hours for all GVSU libraries
Government DocumentsStatistical information and more!
Evaluating resourcesEvaluate the quality of periodicals and websites.
IT Help DeskHelp with printing, wireless connectivity, and all things technological!
Biomedical Sciences Databases
Search these databases for scholarly articles on biomedical topics. If you are having trouble finding what you need in the databases on this guide, please contact Anna for suggestions and assistance.
- Anatomy TV This link opens in a new windowAnatomy TV enables you to rotate a 360 degree view of the human body in 15 layers. Anatomy is labeled making this an excellent tool for studying anatomy.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles focused on Nursing and Allied Health (Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Dental Hygiene, etc.) topics.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCochrane databases specialize in evidence-based practices. All articles are carefully reviewed for best scientific practices before inclusion.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Includes clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, and provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience.
- ProQuest Medical Database This link opens in a new windowCovers "all the major healthcare specialties, including nursing, pediatrics, neurology, pharmacology, cardiology, physical therapy, and others." Updated daily, with coverage dating from 1997 forward.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a highly respected, free biomedical database providing access to scholarly journal articles. An excellent resource for research in medical/health issues. 1948-present. Searches MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine database.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowFind articles, books, and reference materials in all areas of science, technology and medicine. 1823-present.
- Visible Body - Web Suite This link opens in a new windowComplete male and female 3D gross anatomy models.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary resource that allows you to search multiple databases at once, including: Web of Science (Core Collection), Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and tables of contents.
- Last Updated: Mar 1, 2023 11:39 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/bms