Occupational Safety & Health Management: Books & Media
Finding books
Call numbers for Occupational Safety and Health Management books at GVSU:
- Industrial Safety: T55 through T55.3
- Industrial Hygiene: RC963 through RC969; HD7260 through HD7780.8
- Environmental Technology and Sanitary Engineering: TD1 through TD1066
- Environmental Science: GE1 through GE50
- Emergency Management: HV551.2 through HV639
Because it is a multi-disciplinary field, books relevant to OSHM are located in Grand Rapids at the Frey Foundation Learning Commons 205 DCIH and the Steelcase Library at the DeVos Center (building A), and the Mary Idema Pew Library in Allendale. You can have books delivered to the library location of your choice. Depending on the day and time of the request, books can be available as soon as 24 hours after they are requested.
NFPA Codes & Standards
- National Fire Protection Association - free access to codes and standardsNFPA makes its codes and standards available online to the public for free:
> Select the document you want to review.
> Select the edition of the document you want to review.
> Click the "Free access" link (under the document title)
> You will be asked to "sign-in" or create a profile to access the document in read-only format.
Featured Video
A short history of workplace health and safety in the U.S., up to the early 1920s from the 1979 film, "Can't Take No More," from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).
What OSH 495 Capstone is reading ...
The Power of Habit by Call Number: STEELCASE ASRS BF335 .D78 2012ISBN: 9781400069286Publication Date: 2012
The Science of Fear by Call Number: Mary Idema Pew - 2nd Floor: BF575.F2 G37 2009ISBN: 0452295467Publication Date: 2009-06-24
Selected books
You can use a very broad search such as "occupational safety and health" or something more specific to look for books, e-books, etc. in the GV Libraries collections:
The result set includes titles like those below, and more.
Accident Prevention Manual for Business and Industry: Administration & Programs by Call Number: STEELCASE ASRS - T55 .A333 2009ISBN: 9780879122805Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Accident Prevention Manual for Business and Industry: Engineering & Technology by Call Number: STEELCASE ASRS - T55 .A334 2009ISBN: 9780879122812Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Electrical Safety Handbook by Call Number: STEELCASE ASRS - TK152 .C22 2012ISBN: 9780071745130Publication Date: 2012-04-05
The Facility Manager's Guide to Environmental Health and Safety by Call Number: STEELCASE ASRS - RC967 .G34 2008ISBN: 9780865871878Publication Date: 2007-12-07
National Electrical Code 2002 Handbook by
Produced by the NFPA, the popular National Electrical Code- (NEC-) 2002 Handbook contains the complete text of the 2002 edition of the NEC- supplemented by helpful facts and figures, full-color illustrations, real-world examples and expert commentary. An essential reference for students and professionals, this Handbook is the equivalent of an annotated edition of the 2002 NEC- that offers insights into new and more difficult articles in order to guide users to success in interpreting and applying current Code requirements to all types of electrical installations...
Call Number: STEELCASE ASRS - TK3275 .N4 2002ISBN: 9780877654629Publication Date: 2001-12-28
NIOSH pocket guide to chemical hazards by
The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) informs workers, employers, and occupational health professionals about workplace chemicals and their hazards. The NPG gives general industrial hygiene information for hundreds of chemicals/classes. The NPG clearly presents key data for chemicals or substance groupings (such as cyanides, fluorides, manganese compounds) that are found in workplaces. The guide offers key facts, but does not give all relevant data. The NPG helps users recognize and control workplace chemical hazards.
NIOSH offers four versions of the NPG: print, online, PDF, and mobile web app.
Call Number: online resourcePublication Date: 2005
Patty's Industrial Hygiene, 6th ed. by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780470074886Publication Date: 2010-12-01v. 1. Hazard recognition -- v. 2. Evaluation and control -- v. 3. Physical and biological agents -- v. 4. Program management and specialty areas of practice.
Rapid Guide to Hazardous Chemicals in the Workplace by
Get fast, ready access to essential information on the dangerous properties of industrial materials in the millennium workplace. This handy, compact, easy-to-use pocket guide to the most frequently encountered hazardous materials is now significantly updated and revised, providing safety managers and workers with critical data and safety profiles for more than 750 chemicals in the millennium workplace. Each entry is carefully selected for its dangerous properties, reflecting current scientific findings as well as regulatory standards and safety and control recommendations. Clear, accurate descriptions for each substance let you assess its health and safety hazards quickly and easily. Rapid Guide to Hazardous Chemicals in the Workplace, Fourth Edition includes: * The latest OSHA regulations and other exposure standards * Additional carcinogens and toxicity data * Updated ACGIH threshold limit values (TLVs) * Comprehensive workplace air-level guidelines from OSHA, ACGIH, and DFG * DOT guidelines and labeling requirements for U.S. and international shipments * Clear and concise Safety Profiles summarizing hazards for each entry * Physical descriptions, including physical and flammability properties * Extensive indexes for CAS numbers, DOT numbers, and synonyms * Cross-references to entries in the acclaimed Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, 10th Edition
Call Number: STEELCASE Reference T55.3.H3 R37 2000 In-library use onlyISBN: 0471355429Publication Date: 2000-03-24
Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, 12th ed. by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 9780471354079Publication Date: 1999-11-10
Subjects: Occupational Safety & Health Mgmt.
- Last Updated: Mar 20, 2024 12:07 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/OSH
