Public Health: Home: Databases and Journals
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowAgriculture; Nutrition
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowNursing & Allied Health; many peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBest for finding "cited by" and "related articles."
- ProQuest Medical Database This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowExcellent source for biomedical science articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science contains only peer-reviewed content! High-quality journals. Excellent resource for "drilling down" on a topic.
Psychology and Social Sciences databases
- HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new window Features psychological assessment tools for clinicians discussed in journal articles. Tools include questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, ratings, pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window Indexes and full text of 570 psychology journals.
- Psycinfo This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive international database of psychology.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window Index and abstracts of over 625 journals dating back to 1983.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides access to the latest findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Includes references to journal articles; dissertations; book , chapter, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software. Coverage dates back to 1963.
Healthy People 2020 PubMed topics
Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries, or HP2020 SEQs. HP2020 SEQs are pre-formulated PubMed search strategies to find published literature to support achieving Healthy People 2020 objectives. Presently there are 30 topic areas ranging from access to health services to vision
Most of the HP2020 SEQs search strategies have been limited by date to the most recent five years so as to provide the most current information relating to HP2020 topics, and to return a manageable number of citations.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Includes archival access to the Houston Chronicle, Muskegon Chronicle, San Francisco Chronicle, Miami Herald, Atlanta Journal, Dallas Morning News, and more.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window Comprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
- GrantSelect This link opens in a new windowGrantSelect is an extensive online grants database that contains more than 16,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 5,100 unique sponsoring organizations.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new windowPublic affairs publications from the U.S. and many other countries.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- PubMed Special QueriesSearch interfaces for a number of topics, including Health Services Research (HSR), Healthy People 2020, Health Disparities, Health Literacy, and more.
Evidence-Based Practice Resources
- 5 Minute Clinical Consult This link opens in a new window 5MinuteConsult.com helps physicians, physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, residents and other healthcare professionals provide the best patient care by delivering quick answers they can trust, when and where they need them most – at the point of care. This portal is the fastest way to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment and management of thousands of diseases. To access the 5MinuteConsult mobile app first set up a free personal account by accessing the platform while on campus and clicking on the "Create a Free Personal Account" button on the resource homepage. Once a personal account has been created users can download and use the mobile app. To download the iOS app go to https://apps.apple.com/us/app/5-minute-clinical-consult/id301865751. To download the android app go to https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.unbound.android.cq59l&hl=en_US.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of high-quality, evidence-based medicine databases.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new window A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Includes clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, and provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience.
- Complementary & Alternative Medicine (CAM) Evidence-Based Medicine Created for health care practitioners, a selection of EBM resources on topics ranging from acai to zinc.
- Trip A free resource, Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. It primarily searches PubMed but also includes other resources. In addition to research evidence it allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
- AHRQ Under the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has numerous resources relevant to evidence based practice.
Your Liaison Librarian is . . .
- Last Updated: May 24, 2023 11:48 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/PH