Library Resources for Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration: Databases
General Health Science Databases
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
- MEDLINE (ISI) This link opens in a new windowSearch MEDLINE using the Web of Science interface. MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 30 million records of journal articles in all areas of the biomedical and health sciences.
- ProQuest Medical Database This link opens in a new windowUse this database to find medical literature covering major healthcare specialties, including nursing and allied health disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is a publicly available online database of biomedical and medical journal records. It includes MEDLINE content.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowFind articles, books, and reference materials in all areas of science, technology and medicine. 1823-present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary resource that allows you to search multiple databases at once, including: Web of Science (Core Collection), Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and tables of contents.
Marketing Databases
- MINTEL Academic This link opens in a new windowA U.K. database providing consumer market reports from Europe and the U.S. Strategies for reaching target market audiences in the following industry areas: food and drink, consumer goods, retail, finance, leisure and travel.
- WARC (World Advertising Research Center) This link opens in a new windowAdvertising database includes case studies, best practices, market intelligence, major brands, ad/spend statistics, demographics, & campaign videos in all areas of marketing communications.
Other databases to consider
Below are databases that have a broader focus and go beyond the health sciences to include such areas as policy issues, business, finance, or provide an international focus. Read the annotations below for more information. Or take a look at our subject resource pages and explore from there.
- Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new windowUlrich's is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowUse for information on economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions, labor economics, international, regional and urban economics. Includes subject indexing and abstracts of articles, books, and working papers, and subject indexing of dissertation titles.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new windowOne of the library's top international relations and foreign affairs databases. This database covers scholarly and trade journals, books and publications from governments and NGOs.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowThis e-Book database contains top medical reference books and other resources. It should be your first stop for background information or for an overview. It includes CPT, ICD-9 and -10, AHFS Drug Information, Tabor's Medical Dictionary, and Essential Evidence Plus.
- CDC - National Center for Health Statistics"As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people."
- Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides abstracts for the field of Public Administration, including research and theory. Records are selected from many of the leading periodicals in the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration.
To find articles:
Databases allow you to look for articles. Databases usually have citations (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in, volume and issue, date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often have information about other types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
Some databases will also have the articles themselves (the full text of the article). When that happens, you will see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on 
the "Get it at GVSU" button.
Writing a Literature Review?
What is a literature review and how to write one.
What is a literature review? A video.
GVSU Library Book Titles:
The Literature Review: A Step-by-step Guide for Students
The Literature Review: Six Steps to Success
- Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/pna
