Library Resources for Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration: Databases
A guide to library resources and websites.
How to find articles
Databases allow you to look for articles. Databases usually have citations (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in, volume and issue, date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Databases also often have information about other types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.
Some databases will also have the articles themselves (the full text of the article). When that happens, you will see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on 
the "Get it at GVSU" button.
Writing a Literature Review?
What is a literature review and how to write one.
What is a literature review? A video.
What is a literature review? GVSU Knowledge Market overview.
GVSU Library Book Titles:
The Literature Review: A Step-by-step Guide for Students
The Literature Review: Six Steps to Success
Writing an Annotated Bibliography?
- ZoteroBibfree service to help people quickly create bibliographies
Key Databases
Consider trying the databases below or exploring an alphabetical listing of GVSU databases. Or, if you think your topic would also fit within another discipline, take a look at our subject resource pages and explore from there.
- Academic Search UltimateThis is a great place to start if you aren't sure where to begin as it covers a wide range of subject areas-- everything from education to population studies Academic Search Premier is a "mega" database designed especially for higher education. It indexes and abstracts more than 8,000 journals, of which more than 85% are peer-reviewed and over 55% are full text.
- Business Source UltimateFull text journals in all disciplines of business as well as management. It also includes such journals as: Academy of Management Journal, Public Management, and Harvard Business Review.
- JSTORJournal articles, primary sources, and books from over 50 disciplines.
- PAIS InternationalOne of the library's top international relations databases. This database indexes scholarly and trade journals, books, and publications from governments and NGOs. PAIS International references "journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more."
- Public Administration AbstractsProvides abstracts for the field of Public Administration, including research and theory. Records are selected from many of the leading periodicals in the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration.
- ProQuest Business DatabasesLarge collection of journals with articles on a variety of administration and business topics.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowThis database contains the full-text of 10 journals relevant to public and nonprofit administration. Click on blue 'I' icon for instructions.
- Web of ScienceGreat place to trace citations backwards and forwards.
- iPOLL This link opens in a new windowAcademic, commercial, and media polls in the U.S. with search tools designed specifically for survey questions.
- CQ Press Political Reference SuiteProvides access to all of the library's online Congressional Quarterly resources, which provide coverage of U.S. government and politics, foreign affairs and current events. Covered resources include CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Almanac, Local Stats, State Stats, U.S. Political Stats, Supreme Court Yearbook, and more.
- Catalog of Nonprofit LiteraturePrimarily citations and abstracts with some full-text materials, including scholarly and non-scholarly articles and books relating to philanthropy, foundations, and the nonprofit sector. Topics range from charitable giving, statistics, theory, international and domestic philanthropy, and nonprofit administration. There is also information on policy, law and tax regulations as they relate to these fields.
- International Political Science AbstractsThe library's main political science database. An excellent source for finding scholarly political science and international relations articles.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. In addition, it includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines.
- MEDLINE (ISI)Search MEDLINE using the Web of Science interface. MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 30 million records of journal articles in all areas of the biomedical and health sciences.
Questions? Ask Me!
Streaming Video Databases
- Docuseek2Docuseek2 provides access to academic streaming videos, with over 600 titles in all major disciplines.
- Films on DemandFilms On Demand provides access to more than 11,000 online streaming videos from the Films Media Group.
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that provides access to a wide variety of films, series, and documentaries. If there are specific films that are required viewing for your courses, you can search by title on Kanopy's catalog and fill out Kanopy’s request form that appears for films not currently licensed through GVSU Libraries.
- Academic Video OnlineAcademic Video Online: Premium is an Alexander Street Press (ASP) collection that consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of produces and distributors across a wide range of subject areas, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, women's studies, and more.
- Last Updated: Nov 18, 2024 12:49 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/pna
