Biomedical Engineering: Patents
What's a Patent?
A patent is a grant of governmental authority of a right to exclude others from utilizing an invention except upon agreement with the originator or owner. Allowing an inventor a temporary monopoly encourages investment in technology development by reducing the risk that others will take free advantage.
Christopher T. Hill "Patents" The Oxford Encyclopedia of Modern World. Ed Peter N. Stearns. Oxford University Press, 2008. Marquette University. 29 December 2009
Invention and Patent News: Biomedical Topics
Patents - Sources
- United States Patent & Trademark Office, Patent Database (USPTO)Provides indexing, search capabilities and full-text of U.S patents.
- Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new windowValue-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Patent coverage from 1963 to present; citation coverage from 1973 to present.
- DPL: Industrial Property Digital Library (Japanese Patent Office)Japanese patents and the patent process and limited access to online searching of their Patent Abstracts of Japan (PAJ) Database and Patent Gazette (Japanese only) will be found here.
- European Patent Office (EPO) - EspacenetEspacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
- Google Patent SearchCovers the entire collection of issued patents and millions of patent application made available by the USPTO—from patents issued in the 1790s through those most recently issued in the past few months. Search the full text, or search by criteria such as patent number, inventor, and filing date.
- Free Patents OnlineBesides providing the ability to search U.S., European, and Japanese patents, Free Patents Online has RSS feeds on close to a hundred different topics.
- Canadian Patents DatabaseOver 75 years of patent descriptions and images; more than 1,900,000 patent documents.
- LensA worldwide, open-access, free full-text patent informatics resource that searches the full-text of over 115 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions.
Patents, Trademarks, and Intellectual Property - About
- Intellectual Property Mall, Univ. of New Hampshire School of LawThe IP Mall site at UNH contains "a unique collection of UNH Law hosted intellectual property resources and links to the most valuable IP resources in the world (patents, copyrights, trademarks, trade secrets, licensing, technology transfer, etc.)."
- Independent Inventor Resources, USPTOThe USPTO has "specifically constructed Independent Inventor Resources for those who are engaged in inventive entrepreneurial activity."
- Patent Search Tutorials (University of Texas)A selection of patent and trademark searching tutorials and guides curated by the library at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Source Translation OptimizationWhat's Patentable and Copyrightable? "Legal resources and tools for surviving the patenting frenzy of the Internet, bioinformatics, and electronic commerce."
- U.S. Patent Act (Cornell University Law School)"Full text of title 35, sections 1 to 376, of the U.S. code."
- USPTO, Making of America Project (U.S. patents from 1790-1873)"An electronic resource of: Making of America Project, Volume 2."
- USPTO, Patent Classifications"Patent Classifications contains descriptions of U.S. Patent Office patent classes and subclasses."
- United States Patent and Trademark Office"U.S. Patent and Trademark Office's Patents webpages offer information about United States patents."
- World Intellectual Property Organization - WIPOA specialized agency of the United Nations, dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system. Includes patents, trademarks, and other intellectual property. European in focus.
- Last Updated: Feb 28, 2023 1:36 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/biomedengineering