Subject Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Databases

Biomedical Engineering: Databases

If you're doing a broad web-based search, try these engineering-specific search engines.

GlobalSpec
The engineering search engine.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies. It provides access to authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
TechXtra
Find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics.
Google

Google Scholar
When off campus, be sure to login to Google Scholar from the Library's website to directly access GVSU resources and set your Scholar Preferences to include Grand Valley State University.

Key databases:

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, is a publicly available online database of biomedical and medical journal records. It includes MEDLINE content.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary resource that allows you to search multiple databases at once, including: Web of Science (Core Collection), Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and tables of contents.

General Biomedical databases

DynaMed
A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Includes clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, and provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience.
BIOSIS Previews (Web of Science)
Contains the best collection of references to journals in biological and and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.

NCBI
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

Science Direct
Find articles, books, and reference materials in all areas of science, technology and medicine. 1823-present.
SciFinder-n
A research tool for accessing information in Chemical Abstracts databases, using a graphical user interface. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database and dissertations covered in Chemical Abstracts as well as articles currently being indexed, book reviews and biographical information. Requires a one-time, free registration, and an additional login for each use.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
The official website of the FDA; the Code of Federal Regulation is the authoritative source for FDA regulations. "FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation."

Other databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Search for articles, product reviews, buyer's guides, directories, and conference proceedings. Content areas include: chemistry, computer technology, data processing, energy-related disciplines, engineering, math, and physics. 1983-present.
ACM Digital Library
Use this database to find computer science literature from an extensive range of journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings published or co-marketed by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). The ACM Digital Library contains the full text of every article ever published by ACM since its founding, from the 1950s to present.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE Xplore provides access to the full text of electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science literature produced by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). The database includes the contents of journals, magazines, newsletters, conference proceedings, and IEEE standards. All content is complete from 1988 to present; some selected content dates back to 1913.

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) - site index
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.
more...less...
For more than 60 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.

SpringerLink
An integrated full-text database for journals and books published by Springer, with over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals and more than 10,000 books online. Choose the engineering subject collection.
Wiley Online Library
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 14,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

PubMed is extensive and has many features. The following links provide some tips and training for using it successfully.

Subjects: Engineering

Tags: engineering