Biomedical Engineering: Reference Shelf
Abbreviations, Acronyms, Notation
- Abbreviations Dictionary
- Acronym Finder
- Journal Abbreviations lookup
- All That JAS
- CASSI Online Search Tool
- ISI Web of Science (search the Publication Name Index)
- Mathematical and Statistical Notation
- List of mathematical symbols (Wikipedia)
- Notation appendix from CRC
Biomedical Engineering Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Use Knovel to search across 200+ general engineering handbooks and other reference sources.
- Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Vol. 1 Fundamentals, Vol. 2 Applications byCall Number: eBookISBN: 0071498389
- Encyclopedia of Biomaterials & Biomedical EngineeringCall Number: R857.M3 E63 2004, v. 1-2 STEELCASE ASRSISBN: 0824755626
- Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation, 2nd ed. byCall Number: R856.A3 E53 2006, v. 1-6 STEELCASE ASRSISBN: 0471263583
- Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design byISBN: 9780805856279
- Numerical Methods in Biomedical Engineering byISBN: 0121860310
Reference Shelf TOC
- Abbreviations, acronyms, notation
- Biomedical Engineering Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- Biography & History
- Conversion Factors & Units
- Dictionaries & Glossaries
- Protocols (Life Sciences laboratory)
- Standards & Specifications
- Style Guides & Writing Resources (under construction)
- Tables & Formulae
Conversion Factors & Units
Dictionaries and Glossaries
- Medical ImagingPatient-focused overview of types of medical imaging technologies, and benefits of these non-invasive diagnostic tools.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowDictionaries and concise encyclopedias; conventional, medical, and scientific
- Dictionary of Algorithms, Data Structures, and ProblemsBrief definitions of terms related to algorithms, data structures, computational problems, and techniques
Directories point you to people, companies, organizations for obtaining information, products, materials, etc.
- ThomasNetSearch ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers - from Actuators to Medical Instruments to Zirconium. Registration is free, but you can search without registering.
- GlobalSpecProvides Web-based info in three broad areas: 1) SpecSearch database of parametrically searchable OEM and distributor product catalogs; 2) Engineering Web searching engineering content from the open web and a variety of proprietary content publishers; 3) over 60 product and industry e-newsletters.
- Medical Equipment Manufacturers DirectoryDirectory provided by DRE, a medical and surgical equipment supplier.
Protocols (Life Sciences Laboratory Protocols)
- Cold Spring Harbor ProtocolsInterdisciplinary journal, a source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging.
- Nature ProtocolsProtocols being used to answer outstanding biological and biomedical science research questions, including methods grounded in physics and chemistry that have a practical application to the study of biological problems.
- Springer ProtocolsProtocols in life and biomedical sciences; book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, Springer Laboratory Manuals, and more
Standards & Specifications
- FDA Medical Device informationThe U.S. Food and Drug Administration's website is a portal to information regarding the development, regulation, marketing, and use of medical devices. Site includes an 'Overview of Device Regulation."
Style Guides & Writing Resources
- Citing Medicine - NCBI BookshelfThe National Library of Medicine Style Guide, 2nd ed
- Scientific style and format: the CSE manual for authors, editors and publishersPrint resource, call number T11 .S386 2006, copies located in Mary Idema Pew ASRS and Steelcase Reference.
Knovel Technical Collection & Tools
Memorial Tributes National Academy of Engineering, vol. 12, 2008
This series contains short biographies of deceased members of the National Academy of Engineering. Published by the National Academies Press, the volumes are searchable and readable online, from Vol.1, published in 1979, to the latest.
Biographical Memoirs: vol. 89, 2007
Volumes of this series are freely available online at the National Academies Press site from 1974 to present.
Tables and Formulae
- A Concise Handbook of Mathematics, Physics, and Engineering Sciences byISBN: 9781439806395Publication Date: 2011
- Pocket Book of Integrals and Mathematical Formulas, 4th Ed. byISBN: 9781420063042Publication Date: 2008
- CRC Handbook of Engineering Tables byISBN: 9780849315879Publication Date: 2004
- CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae byISBN: 9781420035346
Thanks goes to ....
,,, Patricia Alford at Texas A&M University for inspiring the layout and content of this page.
- Last Updated: Feb 28, 2023 1:36 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/biomedengineering