Sociology: Databases
Sociology Databases
-
ProQuest SociologySearch the full-text of leading sociology journals. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts.
-
SocINDEX with Full TextCovers sociology and other aspects of the social sciences and may be useful in locating information in related areas like anthropology; criminology; and ethnic, racial, and gender studies. Author Profiles support identifying areas of expertise or focus of authors. Coverage dates back to 1895 for some journals and full text is available for a large percentage of sources.
-
Sociological AbstractsProvides access to the latest findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Includes references to journal articles; dissertations; book , chapter, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software. Coverage dates back to 1963.
-
Sociology Source UltimateOffering more peer-reviewed, full-text journals than any other sociology research database, this database provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search UltimateAcademic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
-
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)Provides indexing and abstracting covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Coverage is from 1987-present.
-
ArtstorArtstor is a digital library of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images* (and growing), in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
-
Ethnographic Video OnlineAn online collection of classic and contemporary documentaries in the fields of anthropology, ethnography and social psychology.
-
JSTORJSTOR provides the searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas, but its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed.
-
Social Sciences Full TextThis resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. It provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983 - nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
-
Web of ScienceWeb of Science is a multidisciplinary resource that allows you to search multiple databases at once, including: Web of Science (Core Collection), Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Previews, MEDLINE, and Journal Citation Reports. Find journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, and tables of contents.
How to use Ulrichsweb database to determine peer-review status
Why use Ulrich's?
- Find out if a particular journal is peer reviewed
- Find out which databases index a journal
How to use Ulrichsweb to determine if an article is in a peer-reviewed journal:
1. Ulrich's can tell you whether a journal is peer-reviewed, not individual articles (but, research articles in a peer-reviewed journal will be peer-reviewed).
2. Go to Ulrichsweb database from a GVSU link, either on a subject guide or from the database list.
3. Enter the name of the journal/magazine (not the article or author!).
4. For example, I recently found this article through PubMed database. Notice the journal title is "Pediatric Obesity" (or Pediatr Obes for short):
5. Next, go to Ulrichsweb and type in Pediatric Obesity. This is what the results look like:
6. There are 2 versions of Pediatric Obesity, print and online. In either case, there is a "refereed" symbol (red circle) next to the journal name. This means the journal is "refereed," which is another way of saying peer-reviewed.
NOTE: not every article in a peer-reviewed journal may be peer-reviewed; commentary, news and opinion pieces usually are not peer-reviewed.
-
Ulrichs WebUlrich's is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.
- Last Updated: Jul 3, 2025 10:44 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/soc
