- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Sociology
- Finding Policies
Sociology: Finding Policies
Understanding Congressional Bills
- gov.info: Congressional BillsA bill is a legislative proposal before Congress. Bills from each house are assigned a number in the order in which they are introduced, starting at the beginning of each Congress (first and second sessions). Public bills pertain to matters that affect the general public or classes of citizens, while private bills pertain to individual matters that affect individuals and organizations, such as claims against the Government.
Understanding Policy Codes & Numbers
This website helps decipher bill numbers, showing the basic layout (chamber, type, number) and how each state attempts to explain the various types and formats that are in use across the US.
Explains other key legislative citations.
Glossary of Legislative Terms
Websites
- Find PolicyA side project of Transparify, search think tank sites grouped by topic and location.
- Open Think Tank DirectoryA global collection of 2700 think tanks and related organizations.
- The Policy ArchivePolicyArchive is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.
- usa.govLearn about some of the best-known U.S. laws and regulations.
GVSU Databases
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)Summaries of the more than 195,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
- PolicyMapPolicyMap is a data warehouse of over 50,000 indicators accessible through a state-of-the-art mapping and analytics platform.
- Social Services AbstractsFeatures research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes records for journal articles, dissertations, and citations to book reviews from 1980 to present.
- Political Science CompleteA full-text database which covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Includes full text journals, reference books, and conference papers.
Videos
How to Cite Policy
A useful guide from Portland State University that explains how to cite different types of legislation and other government resources.
Subjects: Sociology
- Last Updated: Nov 25, 2024 9:57 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/soc
