- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Graphic Novels and Comics
- FINDING ARTICLES
Graphic Novels and Comics: FINDING ARTICLES
FINDING ARTICLES
Databases allow you to search for articles about your topic. They show you information about an article: the title, author, and name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in. This is called the citation. Some databases also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Many databases also include the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on
this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
Some databases also have information about other types of resources: sometimes they have information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.
Databases
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text• Articles, books, and other scholarship related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore
Features:
• Saves your recent searches
• Citation tool - Education Source• Provides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers
• Contains abstracts and indexing for more than 2,850 academic periodicals
• Includes full-text for journals, books, and other scholarly materials related to all levels of education from early childhood to higher education
• Citations for over 4 million articles
Features:
• Thesaurus
• Ability to save articles you find in database - Artstor• Access to approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images
• Supports study across disciplines, including anthropology, archaeology, and modern history
Features:
• Images are from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research. This means you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
• Can create instant presentations by downloading up to 150 captioned images at once to PowerPoint
• Ability to share work in image groups and export citations effortlessly
• Ability to zoom up to 10x on an image
• Generate automatic image citations in APA, MLA, an Chicago styles
- Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels DatabaseA scholarly database still being built of alternative comics, the UICCG includes primary material (comics themselves) and secondary interviews, criticism, and journal articles.
- Grand Comics Database• A nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world (basically, a clunkier, comics-only Wikipedia)
• Non-scholarly but one can find information on over 50,000 comics titles and creators (including artists, letterers, and inkers)
Features:
• Use the “Everything” option when searching for more results
• Many titles have cover images available - The Big Cartoon Database• A non-scholarly database for information on animated films and cartoons, both historical and contemporary
• The largest compilation of animated film information in one place, anywhere
• Useful when contrasting or comparing a comics title with its animated counterpart
Features:
• See all the episodes in your favorite animation series, read about each episode, and see what order they aired in
• Searchable by show name or by studio/film makers, from Disney to Warner Bros
• Complete crew lists, release dates and all sorts of other information that relates to your favorite animated films
Subjects: English, Juvenile Literature, Writing
- Last Updated: Sep 16, 2024 1:41 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/graphicnovels
