Subject Guides: French: Enlightenment

French: Enlightenment

Find articles, websites and other news related to France and the French language.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, includes full text of works published in the 18th century.
ARTFL
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. ARTFL consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.

Gallica: La Bibliotheque Numérique
A digital library maintained by the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science
EuroDocs: France
Primary documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
The Super Enlightenment
A project of Stanford University. This digital archive explores the writings of French authors who went beyond John Locke's famed "limits of human understanding," in order to investigate the mysterious perimeters of knowledge — but often progressed with the same concerns as Parisian philosophes.

Find books from the entire U.S.
Go beyond MI to find materials from colleges and universities across the country.

Historical Abstracts
The premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Historical abstracts covering the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
JSTOR
JSTOR provides the searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas, but its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed.

Artstor content will be migrated to JSTOR prior to the site's retirement on August 1st, 2023.

WorldCat Identities
Find a list of books and articles by or about an individual, all collected in one place!

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Michel Delon (Editor)
Call Number: Mary I Pew 2nd floor B802 .D491613 2001
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Michel Delon (Editor); Philip Stewart (Translator)
Call Number: In print, Mary I Pew 2nd floor: B802 .D491613 2001
The Blackwell Companion to the Enlightenment by John W. Yolton (Editor); Roy Porter (Editor); Pat Rogers (Editor); Barbara Marie Stafford (Editor)
Call Number: In print, Mary I Pew 2nd floor: CB411 .B57 1992
The Cambridge Companion to the French Enlightenment by Daniel Brewer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107021488