Subject Guides: French: Revolution in France, 1791

French: Revolution in France, 1791

Find articles, websites and other news related to France and the French language.

French Revolution Digital Archive
A collaboration of Stanford University and the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Exploring the French Revolution
A collection of primary sources compiled by George Mason University and City University of New York.
Images of the French Revolution
A collection of images of the crowds and violence of the time period.
Historical Documents and Texts
Documents provided by the Hanover Historical Texts Collection.
more...less...
Includes:
Arthur Young, Travels in France (1792) excerpts
Cahier of 1789, The Clergy of Blois and Romorantin
Cahiers of 1789: The Nobility of Blois
Cahiers of 1789: The Third Estate of Versailles
Cahier of 1789: The Third Estate of Carcassonne
The Decree Abolishing Feudalism (1789)
The Civil Constitution of the Clergy (1790)
Documents of the National Convention
St. Just, Republican Institute excerpts
Napoleon, Account of the Situation of the Empire (1804) excerpts
Fordham's French Revolution Collection
Extensive collection of primary sources.
The French Revolution Pamphlet Collection
Provided by Emory University. Contents in French.

To access the pamphlets of the French Revolution: Use the search bar in Library Search and keyword "France History Revolution 1789-1799" to bring up a variety of titles.
Pamphlets
A comprehensive digital collection by Ball State. Contents in French.
Newberry Digital Pamphlets
Search hundreds of digitized pamphlets from the revolutionary period

Dictionnaire critique de la révolution Française
Call Number: DC148 .D5313 1989 (2nd floor)
Includes thorough entries on individuals, groups, and events.
The Encyclopedia of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars
Call Number: Ebook
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution, 1789-1799
Call Number: DC147 .H57 1985 (2nd floor)
A New Dictionary of the French Revolution by Richard Ballard
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781848854642

Find books from the entire U.S.
Go beyond MI to find materials from colleges and universities across the country.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
A database with over 180,000 documents and primary sources
ARTFL
Use ARTFL- Frantext to explore nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction and technical writing, including the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Historical Abstracts
The premier database for researching the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Historical abstracts covering the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
JSTOR
Searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research journals in almost all subject areas.

Revolutionary Ideas by Jonathan Israel
Call Number: Ebook
The Making of Revolutionary Paris by David Garrioch
Call Number: Ebook
The Bourgeois Revolution in France by Henry Heller
Call Number: DC147.8 .H45 2006 (2nd floor)

Thanks to Caroline Hopkinson @ Armstrong State for compiling many of these resources

Subjects: French, Modern Languages