Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Resources: Articles/Databases

LGBTQ databases

General Databases

Search tips for finding articles

  • use "quotation marks" around phrases
  • truncate - shorten a word to its trunk or root to get alternate endings - with an asterisk * (shift 8), e.g., truncat* finds truncate, truncated, truncation
  • apply Boolean connector AND to combine unlike ideas, e.g., lesbian AND disabilities
  • apply Boolean connector OR to connect synonyms, e.g., gay OR lesbian

Information exposes the biases of their authors. Scholarly/academic work is often created by white, cis-gender males, and their viewpoints are revealed in the terminology/vocabulary:

  • LGBT* or LGBTQ+, bisexual*, gay, homosexual*, lesbian*, queer, same-sex, "sexual minorities", "sexual orientation"
  • transgender, "trans men"," trans women", "gender identity", "gender role", "gender dysphoria", transsexual*
  • intersectional*
  • "People of color", BIPOC, "Indigenous peoples", African American*, Black, Asian*, Asian American*, Latinx or Latina* or Latino* or Hispanic, "ethnic groups", ethnicity, minority, race
  • "People with disabilities", disab* (disability or disabilities)

Put it all together:

  • "people with disabilities" in one box
  • AND (queer OR LGBT* OR gay OR lesbian* OR same-sex OR homosexual*) in the next box
  • use parentheses in single-box searching - when you don't have another set of boxes, e.g.,:
  • "people with disabilities" AND (queer OR LGBT* OR gay OR lesbian* OR same-sex OR homosexual*)

Use the left or right menus to narrow your results, e.g., by language, date, subject, etc.

Databases have a citation (information about an article such as the title, author, name of the journal or magazine, volume and issue (which correspond to the date), date, and pages) and sometimes they will also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.

Databases also often cite multiple types of resources - books, essays or chapters, government documents, etc.

Some databases will also have the complete item (called the full text): you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. Or click on Get it @ GVSU - this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.

About articles: types, parts, publication process, evaluating

NCSU Libraries. Shared under the Creative Commons Attribution - Noncommercial - Share Alike 3.0 United States License. Contact the author: andreas_orphanides@ncsu.edu

  • Last Updated: Jan 19, 2022 1:15 PM
  • URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/lgbt