Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Resources: LGBTQ in MI
Archival history sources
- LGBTQ : people's history of Grand Rapids project : the history, the story byPublication Date: 2011DVD: An oral and visual history of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer community in Grand Rapids, Michigan, with over 60 interviews of those in the community and their straight allies. Interviews conducted by Jeff Smith.
- Milton Ford filesGVSU Special Collections and University Archives in Seidman House. GV100-04.
- Grand Rapids Lesbian & Gay Organizations Project CollectionThis collection relates to the local and Western Michigan gay and lesbian community since the 1980s and includes a series of 10 oral history interviews. At Grand Rapids Public Library; Grand Rapids History & Special Collections; Oral Histories
- Michigan Framily ReunionWomyn's music festival created by females for females; has camping, outdoor showers, workshops, marketplace, women's music, and dancing.
- We Want the Land CoalitionMichigan Nonprofit organization whose mission is to sustain and administer 650 acres of undeveloped land in Walkerville for the use and benefit of women and girls (former location of the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival)
- Celebrating the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival, issue 103 of Sinister Wisdom byCall Number: Mary Idema Pew ASRS - Periodicals PS508.W7 S54 no.103Publication Date: 2017Request Issue 103.
- From the Liminal to the Land: Building Amazon Culture at the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival byPublication Date: 2006PhD dissertation, Digital Repository at the University of Maryland (College Park, Md.)
5-year ethnographic study of the cultural community womyn built at the Michigan Womyn's Music Festival.
- Collective action, Collective liberation : A model network of aspiring social justice allies byPublication Date: 2015Master's Project in Education: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) safe zone or ally trainings are increasingly common in higher education since the 1990s but reinforce normativity and fail to provide skills and tools for creating systemic change. This project summarizes the history and future potential of social justice allies in higher education and provides a model network of faculty, staff and students committed to mutual teaching and learning and collective action for a socially just campus.
Archival Newsletters and Magazines
- Network Newsnewsletter from the Lesbian and Gay Community Network of Western Michigan (Grand Rapids). 1988-2014
- Other views byPublication Date: 1978-1989Lesbian newsletter from Grand Rapids, Michigan
- Third Coast Magazine byCall Number: Seidman House Regional Historical HQ75 .T48Publication Date: 1996-1999The travel, entertainment, and information magazine for gay, lesbian & bisexual communities in West Michigan and beyond.
- W.E.B. newsletter : a survival network for wimmin byPublication Date: 1981-1984Eco-feminist newsletter from Aradia, Grand Rapids, Michigan
- Lavender morningPublication Date: 1980-2006Lesbian newsletter from Kalamazoo, Michigan
- LGBT newsletters and magazinesNewsletters and magazines from around the state.
Michigan State & University of Michigan
- LGBTQ History and Culture: Resources in Special Collections: Archival collectionsMichigan State University
- Labadie CollectionUniversity of Michigan has the largest collection on transgender issues in the world.
- Last Updated: Feb 22, 2023 8:33 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/lgbt