Citing Sourcesstyle guides & examples for reference lists (aka bibliographies).
Knowledge Markethelp with writing, research, presentations, visualizing basic data sets and engaging with social media platforms and other digital tech
Resource MarketGuides, definitions of academic jargon, and helpful links created by Knowledge Market consultants
Government Resourcesdata, census, info about federal, state, & local government, & cool stuff
GVSU Libraries: for AlumniDescribes resources and services available to GVSU Alumni
- Education Subject GuideLook here for music education resources.
- Education: Projects and Thesesfor education graduate students working on their master's projects or theses
- On this Day in Music HistoryEvents, birthdays, & deaths for this day in music history, from a wide variety of genres & musical styles. Chronology.
This guide's purposes are to: help you learn more about music while using information, provide resources for doing research, help you save time and energy, and successfully complete your assignments.
Each discipline or field of study has different values about types of information and procedures for research, so the resources here will be different from those you might have used in other courses in fields like Writing or Biology.
- Introducing Librarian Kim Ranger(video)
Kim is a violist and has expertise in music-related library research.
- MUS 302 Library Research Google docGoogle doc: download and follow the steps
- MUS 306 Library Research Google DocGoogle Doc: download and follow the steps
- Find & use music encyclopediasVideo tutorial: directions on finding and using encyclopedias.
- Find articles in periodicals in RILM Abstracts databasePowerPoint tutorial: click the speaker icon in the upper right of each slide for audio.
- Find articles in Music Periodicals databasePowerPoint tutorial: click the speaker icon in the upper right of each slide for audio.
- Find and use e-booksPowerPoint tutorial: click the speaker icon in the upper right of each slide for audio.
- Find dissertationsPowerPoint tutorial: click the speaker icon in the upper right of each slide for audio.
- Music Citations: Turabian/Chicago Style: Audio/Visual Materialsfrom DePauw Libraries (Sylvia Yang). Especially useful for Met Opera on Demand!
- Chicago Style online referenceWe now have a subscription to the Chicago Manual of Style online edition at the library.
- Credit is Due (The Attribution Song)by Nina Paley (hilarious video, followed by serious discussion of giving credit)
A good music basics library guide is at Butler University.
A tutorial on Preferred Titles from Indiana University School of Music, Cook Music Library
Annotated Bibliographies: How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography (From Cornell University. Includes examples.) and Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) (A selection of annotations in different styles)
Music CDs, books, & scores are on the 3rd floor.
Mailing address: 240 Mary Idema Pew Library, Grand Valley State University, Allendale, MI 49401
Focus Your TopicThis video shows different ways of focusing a topic for a research paper.
Build Your Search StrategyThis short video explains how to develop a search strategy before finding books and media or articles in databases. These concepts are universal and apply to any search.
Keywords, Search Terms, and Subject HeadingsThis short video demonstrates finding items with keywords and subject terms.
Databases, journals, & articlesVideo defines each and explains how they fit together
Bias in Information Sources3 1/2 minute video defines bias in information and how to address it.
Citation TutorialLearn and test your skills
Find a BookThis video walks you through the process of searching for a book and identifying its location.
Watch video of the ASRS robot in action.
Some books, DVDs, and journals are in the book retrieval system (Automated Storage Retrieval System or ASRS) behind the Service Desk on the 1st floor.
- Last Updated: Jun 8, 2023 12:00 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/music