- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Music
- Encyclopedias
Music: Encyclopedias
Music, Theatre and Dance
About Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedias are a collection of short articles that give background, biographical information, overviews of historical periods with social context, terminology definitions, facts and statistics.
RILM Manual of StyleCall Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2023Guide to citing and writing about music
Music encyclopedias
- Oxford Music OnlineCovers all types of music from around the world, composers, musicians, and instruments. Includes Grove and New Grove.
8 people may use this simultaneously. - IPA SourceContains phonetic transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias, German Lieder, French mélodies, and Italian art songs, featuring the texts to the works of all the great song and opera composers.
Cambridge History of World MusicCall Number: e-bookGlobal foundational historical moments including indigenous cultures.
Garland Encyclopedias of World Music
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music vol. 1: AfricaCall Number: e-bookExamines cross-regional musical influences throughout Africa, including Islam and its effect.Garland handbook of Latin American music (vol. 2)
Call Number: e-bookoriginally published as: The Garland encyclopedia of world music. Vol. 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music vol. 3: The United States and CanadaCall Number: e-bookCovers Arctic to world beat. Special attention is paid to immigrant groups and to Native American traditions.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, vol. 4: Southeast AsiaCall Number: e-bookBrunei, Burma, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music vol. 5: South Asia: The Indian SubcontinentCall Number: e-bookDescribes the wide range of music of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Kashmir, Nepal and Afghanistan.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music vol. 6: The Middle EastCall Number: e-bookIncludes maps and music examples.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Vol. 8: EuropeCall Number: e-book
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Vol. 9: Australia and the Pacific IslandsCall Number: e-bookISBN: 0824060385Garland encyclopedia of world music
Call Number: Mary Idema Pew - 3rd Floor ML100 .G16 1998 v.1-10
Subjects: Music
- Last Updated: Dec 4, 2024 3:36 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/music
