Streaming Videos: How to Find Videos
Request a Title
If you'd like a title added to our streaming video collection, please contact your liaison librarian.
In addition to the resources the library subscribes to, there are many websites featuring streaming video.
GVSU is not responsible for the content of these sites.
- PBS Learning Media Built specifically for teachers, this resource contains streaming video resources. Create a free account to access even more features and content!
- American Indian Film Gallery Collection of films about native groups
- Annenberg Learner Educational videos on a variety of topics
- ARKive Videos and information on hundreds of animals
- C-Span Watch Congress, the White House, and the Courts
- CDC Video Videos on topics in health
- Eviada Collection of ethnographic videos
- Folkstreams Collection of documentary films about American roots cultures
- Library of Congress: American Memory Access to hundreds of early films
- Link TV "TV broadcasts programs that engage, educate and activate viewers to become involved in the world"
- Media Burn Archive An "independent video archive," collecting, preserving, and making available documentary video and television created by artists, activists, and community groups.
- NASA Videos Browse a large collection of videos relating to space and science
- National Film Preservation Foundation Films are not truly preserved until they can be seen again by the public—for study, education, and enjoyment. All organizations receiving NFPF support make their films available for research.
- National Geographic Video Videos (short and long) on variety of topics
- PBS Video Many of PBS full-length programs are available
- Snag Films Search 10,000 free streaming films
- Thanhouser Films Access to more than 50 films, mostly film portrayals of classic literature.
- Veoh Find free online streaming movies
General Interdisciplinary Resources
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowVAST consists of thousands of streaming videos from a large number of producers and distributors across a wide range of subject areas.
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new windowDocuseek2 provides access to academic streaming videos, with over 600 titles in all major disciplines.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand provides access to more than 11,000 online streaming videos from the Films Media Group.
Subject Specific Resources
- Anatomy TV This link opens in a new windowAn excellent tool for studying anatomy, Anatomy TV enables you to rotate a 360 degree view of the human body in 15 layers.
- Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowDance in Video contains 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century, covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, concert, and improvisational dance.
- Education in Video This link opens in a new windowEducation in Video is specifically for training and developing teachers. This collection contains more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAn online collection of classic and contemporary documentaries from around the world, in the fields of anthropology, ethnography and social psychology.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new windowProviding access to more than 250 videos, LGBT Studies provides students and researchers across disciplines perspective on the LGBT political, cultural and social movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
- Nursing Assessment in Video This link opens in a new windowNursing Assessment in Video provides demonstrations and step-by-step instructions for performing physical assessments of patients.
- Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new windowNursing Education in Video is created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with U.S. Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
- Opera in Video This link opens in a new windowOpera in Video contains 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
- Rehabilitation Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowRehabilitation Therapy in Video has more than 350 videos in the areas of occupational therapy, physical/physiotherapy, and speech-language pathology.
- Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new windowWith more than 350 videos, Sports Medicine and Exercise Science features renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share insights on modern exercise science and sports medicine.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowTheatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
- Last Updated: May 11, 2023 11:05 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/streamingvideo