Art & Art History: Articles/Databases
Databases for Art Research
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowCovers fine, decorative, and commercial arts. Also covers architecture and architectural design. Features full text articles and indexing and abstracts for journals, books, podcasts, and more. Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. For use by art scholars, artists, designers, students, and general researchers.
- Art Abstracts and Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt Full Text and Retrospective indexes more than 500 worldwide publications covering the fine, decorative and commercial arts, crafts and media as far back as 1929.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online is an art reference library that searches Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. This resource contains images, biographies, subject entries, and thematic timelines.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowThe International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). It includes the subject areas of fine arts, archaeology, museum studies, classical studies, and architecture. This resource has an international scope with over 60% of content from non-English publications. Date coverage: 2008-present.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtThe Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Other Databases that also contain art related content
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full text journal database which provides access to articles covering many subjects, including art and art history.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to a selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowTwo million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new windowThe Cambridge Companions is a collection of full-text, scholarly reviewed essay anthologies on a range of topics in literature, the classics, philosophy, culture and religion. The collection is best for searching on particular authors, movements, eras and works.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects.
- Citing SourcesStyle guides and examples
- Evaluating ResourcesGuides and examples
- Last Updated: Feb 14, 2023 2:04 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/art