Art & Art History: Images
Where to find images on the web
- accessCeramics"A growing collection of images of contemporary ceramics by recognized artists. It is designed for use by artists, arts educators, scholars and the general public, and is intended to fill a void in contemporary ceramics digital image collections on the web."
- AIGA Design Archives"Included in this resource are more than 20,000 selections from AIGA’s annual juried design competitions dating from 1924 through the present."
- Catalog of American Portraits: Portrait SearchThe Catalog of American Portraits is a survey of American portraits in public and private collections across the United States and abroad.
- Image Collection and Online Artfrom the University of Michigan
- Public Art ArchiveThe Public Art Archive™ is a free, online resource for comprehensive data and rich media, employing a standardized framework to catalog public art.
- Smithsonian Open AccessContains over 2.8 million images, including data and materials from all 19 Smithsonian institutions that are open to the public and free to use.
Where to find images from a library database
- Art Gallery (GVSU)The GVSU Art Gallery's online collection is your gateway to nearly 9000 works of art, ranging from regional and student artists to outstanding gifts, commissions and acquisitions from around the world.
- ArtstorThe Artstor website retirement has been postponed, and will now take place in August 2024. Artstor content will be migrated to the JSTOR platform.
Artstor is a digital library of approximately 300 collections composed of over 2 million images* (and growing), in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. - GVSU Visual Resources Library (GLEAN©)The GVSU Visual Resources Library is the Department of Visual and Media Arts Collection consisting of more than 260,000 digital images to support teaching and learning in art and design. To access the collection from off-campus, please contact the Visual Resources Library at vrlib@gvsu.edu or (616)331-3644 for username and password.
- National Geographic Virtual LibraryContains an image search. Covers 1888-1994.
Finding Open Access images in search engines
This method will work with both a Google Image and Ecosia* Image search, however not all search engines include this capability.
Step 1: go to search engine, and search for images.
Step 2: locate the 'Tools', or 'Filters' option, depending on which search engine you are using. Examples circled in red below.
Step 3: After clicking on 'Tools' or 'Filters', you'll see an option for 'Usage Rights' appear.
Step 4: Select which Usage Rights you want to use from the drop down menu, such as 'Creative Commons', 'Free to share and use', or 'Public Domain'
Step 5: Browse for images and select the ones you need! Don't forget to cite and give credit!
*What is Ecosia? Ecosia is a search engine that donates 80% of its revenue to nonprofit organizations dedicated to reforestation. Each time you search you're helping to plant trees!
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:40 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/art
