Language Arts and Education: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Many excellent reference resources are electronic and bundled within other, larger sources like Literature Resource Center and Oxford Reference.
- Children's Literature ReviewWithin Literature Criticism Online. Link goes to complete list of CLR articles.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowOnline encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographical and critical series. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography, CLC, Scribner's and Twayne's.
- Something About the Author This link opens in a new window• Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults
• Includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series
• More than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images
• Illustrated biographical profiles of approximately 75 children’s authors and artists
• Entries typically cover: personal life, career, writings, works in progress, adaptations, and additional sources
• Citation tools
• On-demand translation
• Workflow tools
The e-book titles displayed are just a few electronic and paper dictionaries owned by GVSU. Search the catalog to find other dictionaries that might help you define your terms.
- Edspeak [e-Book]: A Glossary of Education Terms, Phrases, Buzzwords, and Jargon byAlso in paper: LB15 .R285 2007 - Steelcase Library
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education byAlso available in paper at the Steelcase Library - Reference Collection :REF LC1099 .D53 1997
Could not find it as an eBook in catalog so I updated the link for the physical book only. -RL
Choosing a Dictionary or Encyclopedia
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good place to start for background information about your topic, including:
- an overview
- facts & quick answers
- paths to other sources
- Last Updated: Feb 27, 2023 3:29 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/english-education