Language Arts and Education: Finding Articles
Journal Title Verification
These links will help you verify the type of journal (scholarly, peer-reviewed, trade, consumer, etc.). If the journal isn't listed, Google the title. Most journal publishers provide this info on their websites.
- Ulrichs Web This link opens in a new windowSearch for a journal title here to see more information about it, including whether it is peer-reviewed.
- Journal Titles Indexed in the ERIC databaseA list of the 800+ journals in ERIC, and whether they are peer-reviewed.
Finding Articles
Databases allow you to search for articles about your topic. They show you information about an article: the title, author, and name of the journal or magazine the article appeared in. This is called the citation. Some databases also contain an abstract, or summary, of the article.
Many databases also include the articles themselves (called the full text of the article). When that happens, you should see a link to an HTML or PDF document. If you do not see a link, click on
this will check the other library databases for the full text of the article.
Some databases also have information about other types of resources: sometimes they have information about books, book chapters, government documents, and other things.
For Scholarly Articles in Education & Curricular Materials
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, as well as a variety of other materials.
- ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new windowCovers the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Includes 640 full text journals. Coverage is from 1991 to the present.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly research for education students, professionals, and policy makers. Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education. Covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- Education Abstract & Education Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowEducation Abstracts provides access to a vast range of historical education magazines, peer-reviewed journals, and yearbooks. It contains articles and information about articles written between 1929 and 1983 and after 1995.
For Literary Scholarly Articles in English
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles, books, and other scholarship related to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this online bibliography dates back to the 1920's. The database contains millions of citations, as well as, full text for 1,000 journals.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window• Full-text biographical and critical essays on major poets, playwrights, novelists and other writing through history and across language
• Emphasis is on western authors writing in English - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window• Full-text access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book reviews, biographical essays, topical overview essays, poetry, and short fiction from contemporary literary magazines
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window• Literature Online (LION) provides full-text, searchable access to a wide range of English language literary works, criticism, and reference sources.
- Cambridge Companions This link opens in a new window• Full-text, scholarly reviewed essay anthologies on a range of topics in literature, the classics, philosophy, culture, and religion
• Best for searching on particular authors, movements, eras, and works
- Last Updated: Jul 31, 2023 11:58 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/english-education
