Open Educational Resources: Humanities
General Resources for Humanities
On the Humanities page of this guide, you will find selected Open Education Resources with a disciplinary focus within the Humanities.
We've also listed a group of multi-disciplinary resources that may be appropriate for your discipline, but require searching for a particular discipline or topic.
- Ohio State University Press's Open Access InitiativeThis collection of texts representing mostly literary and historical topics. The review process is the same as that of any other Ohio State University Press publication.
- Wiki Education Foundation for Instructors"The Wiki Education Foundation connects higher education resources in the USA and Canada to the publishing power of Wikipedia. We cultivate learning that enriches Wikipedia and universities, creating a world where any learner can contribute to open scholarship and education for all. We change the lives of students by helping students change the world."
- World Digital LibraryProvides access to primary materials like manuscripts, maps, books, newspapers, prints, sound recordings and film. These can be searched by place, time, topic.
- The Vergil ProjectThis resource, from the University of Pennsylvania, provides materials for students and teachers of Vergil, including Grammar/Syntax assistance, a concordance, commentaries, translations, and correspondences.
English Literature Resources
- Great Writers Inspire - University of Oxford PodcastsThis is a collection of short talks about great writers is geared toward first year undergraduates.
- Literature, the Humanities, and HumanityPart of the Open SUNY collection of textbooks, this text covers a range of literature, including Homer, Sir Philip Sidney, Pope,Henry Fielding, Joseph Andrews, Shakespeare, Jane Austen, Dickens, and George Eliot.
- History in the Making: A History of the People of the United States of America to 1877This is a downloadable, free-to-use textbook licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. It covers U.S. History from before European Contact through Reconstruction.
It underwent a double blind peer review.
- UC Berkeley Webcasts in HistoryWebcasts of UC Berkeley history courses, including U.S. history, intellectual history of the U.S., international relations, European history, world history, the history information and much more.
- American YawpA collaboratively-written, open-access American History textbook, designed for college instruction and general readers.
- The American Yawp Reader"A documentary companion" featuring primary source materials chosen to correspond with the organization and topics of the American Yawp textbook.
- Spanish I Textbook from WikiversityThis is a Wikiversity course with many chapters that cover Spanish language and cultures of many countries.
- Elementary French IThis open course is from Carnegie Mellon University and includes 15 thematic lessons, designed for students to cover one week at a time.
- Elementary French IIFrom Carnegie Mellon University's Open Learning Initiative, this 15 week course is sequenced, media-rich, and interactive.
- Liberté by Gretchen AngeloThis is a first-year college French textbook; PDFs are freely available under a CC-BY-NC-SA license. Audio files are available to institutions who are adopting textbook after contacting author.
- Introduction to Philosophy: An Online Textbook by Dr. Philip A. PecorinoThis online textbook covers philosophical thought from the Classic Greeks to contemporary philosophy.
- forall x: An Introduction to Formal LogicAn introductory textbook in formal logic by P.D. Magnus (SUNY Albany) available under CC BY-SA. Published in 2012.
- UC Berkeley Webcasts of Philosophy lecturesWebcasts of lectures on the philosophy of mind, theory of meaning, philosophy of language, existentialism, and ancient philosophy.
- Writing Commons"A free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research." Useful particularly for first year writing.
- Open-Access Textbooks from the Writing Studio at Colorado State UniversityThis is a collection of open access textbooks related to writing. Listed here are some of the books that are listed on this page.
- Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing Volume 1See description below.
- Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing Volume 2See description below.
- Writing Spaces Web Writing Style GuideSee description below.
OER at GVSU
- Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing Volume 1"Volumes in Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing offer multiple perspectives on a wide-range of topics about writing, much like the model made famous by Wendy Bishop’s “The Subject Is . . .” series."
- Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing Volume 2"Volumes in Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing offer multiple perspectives on a wide-range of topics about writing."
- Writing Spaces Web Writing Style GuideAdvice on writing for the web, for undergraduates and other writers. A companion to Writing Spaces, Vols. I and II.
- Bent Not Broken: A Family Remembers the War in Liberia and Sierra LeoneA multimedia narrative of a family's journey from war-torn Liberia and Sierra Leone to the United States.
- Last Updated: Jul 12, 2022 12:58 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/oer