Subject Guides: Open Educational Resources: Health Sciences

Open Educational Resources: Health Sciences

A collection of resources to help GVSU faculty find open-licensed textbooks and other educational materials for their courses.

MERLOT II Health Sciences
Over 4,000 vetted health sciences open education resources ranging from simulations to drills and reference materials.
more...less...
Created by the California State University System, MERLOT II contains over 4,000 vetted health sciences open education resources including simulations, animations, reference materials, games, drills, reference materials and more in all areas of health sciences.
MedEd Portal
Peer reviewed publications produced by the Association of American Medical Colleges. Requires free registration.
more...less...
MedEd provides access to online, peer reviewed publications for those in the medical field. Materials are licensed individually, though licenses are through Creative Commons. Attention must be paid to which Creative Commons license is chosen by the individual author.
Open Courseware Consortium
Links to over 3000 open courses from 70+ providers in a wide range of health sciences.
more...less...
Includes syllabi, course calendars, reading lists, and study materials that are freely distributable and can be altered. Credit must still be given to the original source, however.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
Over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Mostly images and videos.

MERLOT II Nursing resources
Almost 500 vetted nursing learning resources. Easily searchable.
more...less...
Created by the California State University System, MERLOT II contains nearly 500 vetted nursing learning resources including interactive tutorials, animations, and reference materials on topics such as dosage calculations, ECGs, and safety. Easily searchable.
OERs for nursing education
Includes modules on emergency preparedness, geriatrics and palliative care, medical terminology, and more.
more...less...
Created by the George Washington University School of Nursing.
Open Michigan (nursing)
Resources on palliative care, global health, nursing research, and language and culture in healthcare delivery.

MERLOT II Radiology resources
Over 50 vetted radiology learning resources including assessment tools, drills, and textbooks. Easily searchable.
more...less...
Created by the California State University System, MERLOT II over 50 vetted radiology learning resources including assessment tools, drills, and textbooks on topics ranging from skeletal dysplasias to the basics of MRIs.

MERLOT II Public Health resources
Contains nearly 500 vetted public health learning resources. Easily searchable.
more...less...
Created by the California State University System, MERLOT II contains nearly 500 vetted public health learning resources for public health including simulations, animations, and reference materials on topics such as disaster planning, environmental health, and global health. Easily searchable.
MERLOT II Epidemiology resources
Almost 100 vetted epidemiology learning resources. Easily searchable.
more...less...
Created by the California State University System, MERLOT II contains just under 100 vetted epidemiology learning resources pertaining to epidemiology including collections, online courses, and presentations on topics such as food safety, pandemics, and immunizations.
Open Michigan (public health)
For public health -- includes measuring health disparities and introduction to systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
more...less...
Provided by the University of Michigan School of Public Health.

Interprofessional Education Collaborative
Includes learning modules for interprofessional health education.
University of Toronto Centre for Interprofessional Education
Tools and toolkits for interprofessional education. While free, requires one to provide an email to download materials.