goal of education: “to engage in historically-valuable conversations, to become familiar with important voices, to learn how to address these voices, & to develop responsible replies to them.” Dr. Phipps’ and my job is to help you develop professional identities, which requires an understanding of conventions & practices which have constructed the landscape of music over time. You must learn about the scholarly knowledge and make decisions based on your own understanding of it.

objectivity: comes out of active conversation, is polyphonic, & changing, meaning you have to challenge the value of information sources.

authority: participatory and polyvocal (a musical term meaning many-voiced); means critiquing an author’s intentions

knowledge: build it socially

meaning: constructed during communication, which means that an article or book doesn’t “contain” info until someone reads it, reflects on it, & responds to it!

TERM PAPER: Learn practices of gathering and evaluating information as musicians entering the professional/scholarly community. References must include at least 2 encyclopedias, 3 periodicals, 3 books, and 1 doctoral dissertation from a U.S./Canadian/British University.

TODAY: Focus on practices of gathering and evaluating information as musicians entering the professional/scholarly community.

The music collections at the Lemmen Library and Archives include an Early 20th Century sheet music collection (89 pieces of popular sheet music, spanning from the very late 1800s to the early 1900s) and the Robert Shechtman musical scores (many of the compositions were commissioned by Arend D. Lubbers, former president of Grand Valley, for various people and events at the university. Robert Wepman co-wrote some of the pieces contained in the collection). Contact Leigh Rupinski to schedule a visit to the Lemmen Library and Archives to see these materials.

There are additional types of music-related items in the Digital Collections, including Music Department recordings, Sponsored music performance brochures and flyers, programs, and scrapbooks and photograph albums.

Grade sources students use in their text and bibliography