Music, Theatre, & Dance: Faculty Guide to the Library: Finding Library materials

Finding books in the new system

The Books link under the "Find articles, books, & more" search box finds all items like books, cds, videos, etc.

Books link

Keyword search for music branding

You'll see that the limits are set to Available in the Library Collection and Catalog Only:

limit by source type, etc.

Here's an example item after I clicked the title and the Permalink option on the right menu:

Brands that rock book record and permalink

 

When you know a specific author/composer and title, click Advanced Search:

Put the title in quotes if you're sure it is exact, and change the dropdown from Select a Field to Title; add the author's last name and change the dropdown:

Result 1 is the ebook; 2 is from a database; 3 shows the volume in a set and is a book review. Use the left menu: scroll down to "Limit to" and click "Available in Library Collection" and you will only see the books/ebooks.

Result 1 is the ebook - click "Access full text online" or on PDF Full Text, then "Share Link to Book" or click on Permalink at the bottom of the right Tools menu. Copy and paste the link to Blackboard.

Book links or permanent urls might look like: https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.gvsu.edu/lib/gvsu/detail.action?docID=325068

or https://ezproxy.gvsu.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e700xna&AN=280122&site=eds-live&scope=site

Getting links to journals & articles in the new system

Search for the journal title with quotes around the title: "journal of music teacher" if you know the exact title. Otherwise, search for a word or phrase like chronicle.

journal title search

If you have already done a search, use the "SO Journal Title/Source" option:

SO Journal Title/Source search

If there are many results, scroll down to Resource Type in the left menu and click journal.

Click the blue + Full Text Access link below the journal name to see the years that each database includes:

Click the Permalink to the right for the link to add to Blackboard:

Copy the entire link!

Use the same process to get an article's permalink, once you have found the article.

Books, Scores, Recordings, Video

Please see the Music Theatre or Dance Library Guides for detailed information on books, dissertations, DVDs/videos, recordings, scores, and websites.

Call Numbers for Dance books:

  • Dance in general: call numbers: GV1580-GV1799.4
  • Dance music: call numbers: ML3400-3465; MT950
  • Dance & sports medicine: call number: RC1220.D3

Call Numbers for Theatre

To Find Music Items at GVSU:

Call Numbers for Music items

Call Numbers for books and scores beginning with the letter M will be found on the 3rd floor of the Mary Idema Pew Library (Allendale). CDs are at the beginning of the M's, followed by the Miniature scores. Oversized scores are in the ASRS.

  • ML Books about Music
  • MT Books about Teaching Music
  • Posters detailing M-MT call numbers
    • For popular music – search by Composer, Performer or by Title
    • Select Author (for performer) or on Title.
    • Type composer's or performer's name (e.g., stravinsky igor OR ellington duke). Click on Search.>
    • From the Library homepage, click on Find Books
    • Search the type of item such as score as a keyword.
    • Use separate boxes for your composer, piece title, type of piece, or other keywords.
    • When you put your composer's last name in the box, change the drop-down to "author" instead of keyword.
    • When searching for a type of piece, use the plural, e.g., "sonatas" or "concertos" (not concerti). You may use keywords like "piano sonatas op. 23" if you change the drop-down menu at the end of the search box to "all of these" instead of "as a phrase."
    • Click on the Printed Music option in Material Type box in the left menu.
  • To get the url to put into Blackboard when you find an item we own, scroll down to the bottom right of the screen and click on Bookmark link for this record. Then, copy the url from the top address screen. 
Subjects: Dance, Music, Theatre
  • Last Updated: Sep 1, 2022 11:24 AM
  • URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/mtdfaculty