- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Native Americans
- Articles/Databases
Native Americans: Articles/Databases
Keywords
While we prefer terms like "Tribal Nations" or "Sovereign Nations," we acknowledge that the following terms are commonly used in sources of information. Try combinations like the following search with your other topic keywords:
("native americans" or indian or indigenous or "first nations" or aborigin*) NOT (india OR indiana* OR australia*)
Social Sciences Databases
- Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaPart of the Gale Primary Sources database. Includes photos, BIA & Census records, letters, newspapers, reports, etc.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA multi-disciplinary, giant database of scholarly and non-scholarly research.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, most from settler viewpoints. Also includes images.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers sociology and social sciences: may be useful in areas like ethnic, racial, and gender studies; anthropology; and criminology. Author Profiles support identifying areas of expertise or focus of authors.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for tribal nations (e.g., Ojibw*, Odawa, Potawatomi) or larger groups (e.g., Anishinaabe*)
Covers theoretical and applied sociology, social sciences, and political science. - Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for tribal nations (e.g., Ojibw*, Odawa, Potawatomi) or larger groups (e.g., Anishinaabe*).
Only 5 people may use this database at a time.
Biography Databases
- Biography Index Past and Present This link opens in a new windowSearch for names, tribes, or "Native American*"
Individual and collective biographies & autobiographies from all nationalities, 1984-present. - Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new windowBiographies of people from tribal sovereign nations, e.g., Jane Johnston Schoolcraft, Simon Pokagon.
Search for Potawatomi, etc. - Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowSearch for Native American Writers of the United States.
An encyclopedia of writers, journalists, publishers, and children's authors who write in English. Interweaves author biography with discussion of their works.
Note about Peer-review
Peer review, known as a process of choosing which scholarly or academic articles get published, is deeply rooted in bias. The scholarly world is small, so reviewers often know who has written a submitted article, even if the author has taken care to anonymize it (remove identifying names and characteristics). This can be used to choose work that reflects the reviewer's biases and perpetuate the publication of known "experts."
As an example, listen to or read:
The politics of citation: Is the peer review process biased against Indigenous academics? CBC Radio · Kyle Powys Whyte is a professor at Michigan State University, and Sarah Hunt is an assistant professor of First Nations and Indigenous Studies at University of British Columbia. Both have experienced first hand how difficult the peer review process can be for Indigenous academics."
- Last Updated: Apr 19, 2024 8:06 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/natamericans
