- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Native Americans
- Languages & Literature
Native Americans: Languages & Literature
Tribal Nations in North America / Turtle Island
Anishinaabemowin / Three Fires language resources
- Anishinaabemda
Learn Anishinaabemowin (Odawa): Grammar, everyday terms, language videos, culture, legends, history, fun & games, Annual Family Language & Culture Camp. - Gijigowi Anishinaabemowin Language Department (GALD)
Publications, learning materials, educational language programs, and language documentation from the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians. - The Language of the Three Fires Confederacy
"We have created this cyberspace so that the ancient sounds are not lost and can be connected to anyone willing to listen, learn, and labor with us in the effort to maintain Anishinaabemowin." - Ojibwe People's DictionaryA searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers.
- Wiwkwébthëgen (Digital Archives): Dictionary
Click Dictionary from the Pokagon Band of Potawatomi. "Preserving material of historical and cultural value for Pokégenek Bodéwadmik."
Literature
- Literature by Native American authorsE-books and books at GVSU. Use the left menu to narrow the list.
- American Indians in Children's LiteratureCritical analysis of Indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, by Native experts.
- Native American Indian Themes in Children's and YA BooksDiscussion of Native American books and writers, by Cynthia Leitich Smith (Muscogee Creek Nation).
- Living Nations, Living WordsNative Americans' poetry with biographical info about each poet. Each of the 47 poets chose a poem to include and where they wished to place themselves on this map.
- Yellow Medicine Review
A journal of Indigenous literature, art, and thought from Southwest Minnesota State University. Submissions require tribal affiliation.
Language, Linguistics, & Literature Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowSearch for Anishina*, Ojibwa, Odawa, or Potawatomi, for example, to find articles on all subjects.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for Anishina*, Ojibwa, Odawa, or Potawatomi, for example, to find articles on communication or linguistics topics.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for Anishinaabemowin, Ojibwa, Odawa, or Potawatomi, for example, to find articles on languages, literature, linguistics, or folklore.
Subjects: Anthropology, Social Work, Sociology
- Last Updated: Apr 23, 2024 3:30 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/natamericans
