Human Rights: Home
Human Rights in Two Minutes
Starting Your Research
Welcome to the subject guide for Human Rights! Here are a few ideas for how to get started with your research:
- Below, you'll find some databases that may be useful for your research. The left side of the page also has useful journals listed. These are good places to find scholarly articles (articles written by academics and experts in their field).
- This guide also has a page dedicated to News Sources that should also be helpful in your research.
- If you get stuck and need some help consider using the the "Email Me" button to the right, which will put you in touch with the Human Rights liaison librarian.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides the searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas, but its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed.
Artstor content will be migrated to JSTOR prior to the site's retirement on August 1st, 2023.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
- Girls’ Rights Platform: Human Rights DatabaseThe Human Rights Database from Plan International curates legally binding policies and international soft law from United Nations and regional bodies relating to human rights issues.
- Global Health and Human Rights DatabaseThe Global Health and Human Rights Database is a free online database developed by Lawyers Collective and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University, in collaboration with a worldwide network of civil society partners. The database includes case law, national constitutions, and international instruments from around the world relating to health and human rights.
- Universal Human Rights IndexProvides access to country-related documents submitted to any of the UN human rights bodies, including the special procedures. (See the United Nations tab for more UN databases)
- Last Updated: Feb 6, 2023 12:13 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/HRT