Political Science: Home
You can search for films in our film databases here.
- Bending the ArcA powerful documentary about the extraordinary team of doctors and activists - including Paul Farmer, Jim Yong Kim, and Ophelia Dahl - whose work thirty years ago to save lives in a rural Haitian village grew into a global battle in the halls of power for the right to health for all. Epic, yet intimate, the film is a compelling argument for the power of collective and personal vision and will to turn the tide of history
- China UndercoverA special undercover report from China’s secretive Xinjiang region. FRONTLINE investigates the Communist regime’s mass imprisonment of Muslims, and its use and testing of sophisticated surveillance technology against the Uyghur community.
- Human FlowMore than 65 million people around the world have been forced from their homes to escape famine, climate change and war, the greatest displacement since World War II. Filmmaker Ai Weiwei examines the staggering scale of the refugee crisis and its profoundly personal human impact. Over the course of one year in 23 countries, Weiwei follows a chain of urgent human stories that stretch across the globe, including Afghanistan, France, Greece, Germany and Iraq.
Starting Your Research
Wondering where to start your research? Here are a couple places to start. For more options, check the specialized tabs at the top of this guide.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate is a giant database that covers more than 10,021 journals, and full text for nearly 9,017 peer-reviewed titles. It is a comprehensive, multi-disciplinary resource of scholarly research.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides the searchable full text of the backfiles of many of the core research and academic society published journals in almost all subject areas, but its emphasis is in the humanities and social sciences. The majority of JSTOR's content is academic and peer-reviewed.
Artstor content will be migrated to JSTOR prior to the site's retirement on August 1st, 2023.
- OCLC FirstSearchSearches multiple databases including WorldCat a catalog shared by libraries around the world.
Top Political Science Databases
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new windowInternational affairs database with working papers, journal articles, books, policy papers and more from a wide variety of sources. Most of the resources in this database are available full text.
- HeinOnline Government, Politics, and Law This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline’s Government, Politics, and Law provides comprehensive coverage of more than 2,000 periodicals. In addition the journals, the database also contains the Congressional Record, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, constitutions for every country in the world, classic books from the 18th & 19th centuries, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations and more.
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe library's main political science database. An excellent source for finding scholarly political science and international relations articles.
- PAIS International This link opens in a new windowOne of the library's top international relations and foreign affairs databases. This database covers scholarly and trade journals, books and publications from governments and NGOs.
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowA full-text database which covers political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Includes full text journals, reference books, and conference papers.
GVSU Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system as part of the organization of our physical collection. Bellow are related classification guides to reference for physical browsing of the stacks in the libraries.
- Last Updated: May 24, 2023 10:52 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/pls