Subject Guides: Library Resources for Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration: Grants

Library Resources for Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration: Grants

A guide to library resources and websites.

How To's and More Resources to Check Out

Using Data to Support Grant Applications and Other Funding Opportunities
Produced by the Community Research Institute, this document presents the sections of a grant that need to be backed up by data, details where to find that data, and pulls it all together by explaining the difference between ineffective and effective uses.
Grant Resources Page at GVSU's CSCE
Foundation Stats
The Grantsmanship Center

Philanthropy and the Johnson Collection

The Dorothy A. Johnson Collection on Philanthropy & Nonprofit Leadership is one of the most comprehensive collections in the country in the areas of philanthropy, volunteerism, youth philanthropy, service learning, and nonprofit management. It includes all materials purchased with funds endowed by the Council of Michigan Foundations (CMF) since July 2000, and contains many items formerly held in the CMF library, which dates back to 1972. The Johnson Collection is an affiliate of the Consortium of Foundation Libraries.

Finding Funders, Nonprofits and other Grant Resources

GrantSelect This link opens in a new window
GrantSelect is an extensive online grants database that contains more than 16,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 5,100 unique sponsoring organizations.

FDO Quick Start
FDO Quick Start provides free, public access to essential information about over 100,000 foundations and over 250,000 IRS Forms 990-PF.
Foundation 990 Finder
Giving USA
A compilation of facts and trends on American philanthropy
Grant Advisor
GrantAdvisor is a web service that facilitates open dialogue between nonprofits and grantmakers by collecting authentic, real-time reviews and comments on grantseekers’ experiences working with funders to encourage more productive philanthropy.
Grants.gov
Allows you to find and apply for federal grants.
GrantSpace
Great webinars, sample documents, etc.
Grassroots Grantmakers
GuideStar
This database requires a free account in order to view nonprofit 990s.
Michigan Grant Resources
Compiled by Michigan State University libraries, a list of Michigan based grant makers.
Giving Tuesday 990 Data

Sources for Background Info

Catalog of Nonprofit Literature This link opens in a new window
Primarily citations and abstracts with some full-text materials, including scholarly and non-scholarly articles and books relating to philanthropy, foundations, and the nonprofit sector. Topics range from charitable giving, statistics, theory, international and domestic philanthropy, and nonprofit administration. There is also information on policy, law and tax regulations as they relate to these fields.
"Entries . . . represent the literature on philanthropy, the foundation world, the nonprofit sector particularly works on such topics as fundraising and proposal development and works related to charitable giving, including project reports, studies, and statistical analyses. They cover works on theory, philosophy, and workings of domestic and international philanthropy as well as histories of individual foundations. Literature on all aspects of company-sponsored foundations and corporate giving is included, as are materials related to the nonprofit sector, its composition, administration, and management. Included are publications that discuss the impact of government policies and funding upon the sector and the legal and tax implications of local, state, and federal regulation and legislation. Voluntarism and revenue generating activities of nonprofits are also covered." Updated annually. For more information, see The Literature of the Nonprofit Sector--Contents

Charity Navigator
Charity Navigator is the nation's largest and most-utilized evaluator of charities.
FOLIO (Foundation Literature Online)
This is an online digital repository of foundation-sponsored research reports and publications covering the full scope of philanthropic activity.
more...less...
FOLIO is a project of the Foundation Center and the IUPUI University Library’s Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives. It preserves and makes accessible material indexed in the Foundation Center’s PubHub.

Public Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A library database that includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration.
Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration."

Foundation Center's Issue Lab
Lots of resources and reports on relevant topics!

Subjects: Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration

Tags: grants, health_administration, nonprofit, policies, public_administration

Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/pna

University Libraries

More research tools:

Library Resources for Public, Nonprofit and Health Administration: Grants

How To's and More Resources to Check Out

Philanthropy and the Johnson Collection

Finding Funders, Nonprofits and other Grant Resources

Sources for Background Info

Contact

Social Media

Committed to Equality