Geography: Websites
Find Books, Databases, Statistics, Data, Websites and more on the subject of Geography
Useful Websites
- Center for International Earth Science Information Network (Columbia University's Earth Institute)The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) is an independent non-governmental organization connected to the Columbia Climate School at Columbia University. CIESIN's goal is to provide information helpful in understanding the evolving relationship between humans and the environment, on-line data and information management, and spatial data integration and training.
- GeoNamesThe GeoNames geographical database covers all countries and contains over eight million place names that are available for download free of charge.
- Great Lakes Commission LibraryThe Great Lakes Commission recommends policies and practices to balance the use, development, and conservation of the water resources of the Great Lakes. The GLC Library houses select GLC publications, project reports, and products.
- National Centers for Environmental InformationNCEI manages an extensive archive of atmospheric, coastal, geophysical, and oceanic research and data. They also work to develop products and services concerning data discovery.
- National Council for Geographic EducationThe National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE) is a nonprofit organization that promotes geographic teaching by providing professional development opportunities, producing journals and other geography publications, developing and distributing content and resources, advocating for geography in schools, and organizing an annual conference and other forums for educators.
- NOAA Satellite and Information ServiceNOAA's National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS), provides access to global environmental data and information from satellites and other sources to advance the understanding and prediction of changes in climate, weather, oceans, and coasts.
- Population Environment Research NetworkPopulation-Environment Research Network (PERN) is an internet based network centered around population-environment research that is open to all who are interested.
- United States Geological Survey (USGS)You can download or create your own map based on USGS files in the Maps, Imagery, and Publications section.
Country Information
- BBC News Country Profiles"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives."
- Background Notes (U.S. Dep't of State)"Background Notes are factual publications that include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty."
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
- Election GuideCreated by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems "ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information and results available online."
- International Monetary Fund: Country InformationAccess IMF reports and publications arranged by country.
- Nations of the World (Library of Congress)Access information on countries' government, as well as more generalized information.
- State Department Post ReportsProvides a view of living, housing, and health conditions in countries, as well as recreational, cultural, and employment opportunities and an overview of the history, geography, demography, and political conditions.
- UNdata (United Nations)This portal that allows you to search across multiple UN statistical databases at once.
- UNdata Country ProfilesProvides statistical summaries of individual countries.
- World Bank: Countries and RegionsAccess Country Briefs, overviews, statistics and other World Bank publications on countries around the world.
Subjects: Geography
- Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 12:38 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/geography
