Nursing - graduate: Home/Links to databases
Health Science Databases for literature searching
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides access to health science literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes standards of practice and evidence-based care guidelines. Optimized for mobile devices.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowContains evidence-based medical resources: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, Health Technology Assessments, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse Google Scholar to search for scholarly, peer reviewed articles on any topic.
- ProQuest Medical Database This link opens in a new windowContains medical literature covering major healthcare specialties, including nursing and allied health disciplines.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a publicly available online database of biomedical and medical journal records. It includes MEDLINE content. Has an app -- PubMed for handhelds.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowThis indexing database is good for following the history of research through cited articles. It covers Science Citation Index as well as the social sciences.
Point of care/medical reference
- 5 Minute Clinical Consult This link opens in a new windowPoint-of-care clinical information
- Access Medicine This link opens in a new windowMedical textbooks, case studies, algorithms, multimedia and access to Teaching CaseFiles.
- DynaMed This link opens in a new windowA point-of-care clinical reference tool. Updated frequently.
- Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new windowPoint-of-care drug information
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowMedical reference books, ICD-9 and -10 codes, Essential Evidence Plus, AHFS drug information, and calculators.
- TRIP (Turn Research Into Practice)Systematic reviews, practice guidelines, critically-appraised topics, articles, and more.
Other useful databases
- HAPI (Health & Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new windowFeatures assessment tools for clinicians discussed in journal articles. Tools include questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, ratings, pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowContains full-text information about and reviews of over 2,000 English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Contains descriptive information and edited review(s) written by content area experts. Coverage from 1985 (Volume 9) to the present.
- ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new windowIndexes and full text of 570 psychology journals.
- Psycinfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, this database is a comprehensive international database of psychology.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts of over 625 journals dating back to 1983.
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the latest findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and political science. Includes references to journal articles; dissertations; book , chapter, and association paper abstracts as well as citations from books, films, and software. Coverage dates back to 1963.
Nursing Liaison Librarian
- Last Updated: May 24, 2023 11:48 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/gradnursing