Subject Guides: History: African History

History: African History

Use this guide to find information about topics in History

allAfrica
allAfrica aggregates news from over one hundred African news and media organizations. Content is in both English and French and is updated daily.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender. Coverage: 1900 - current.

Cambridge Histories Online: Africa
• Collection of online searchable books covering African history from early civilizations until 1975

allAfrica
allAfrica aggregates news from over one hundred African news and media organizations. Content is in both English and French and is updated daily.

Afro Barometer
Research that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.
Aid Data
contains information about international economic development assistance, dating back to 1947
Trans Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Information about the slave trade from primary sources
UNICEF Data
Search UNICEF data on a variety of topics, or by country

Africa Confidential
One of the longest-established specialist publications on Africa, with a considerable reputation for being first with in-depth news and analysis on significant political, economic and security developments across the continent. Not all articles are available for free-- look for the "free" icon.
Africa Center for Strategic Studies
Security affects every facet of life, and the Africa Center for Strategic Studies (sponsored by the U.S. Department of Defense) provides scholars a place to find programs, publications, and share information.
Africa Studies Center
The University of Pennsylvania's list of helpful web sources covering Africa.
Aluka
Wide variety of high-quality scholarly materials ranging from digitized historical documents to 3D models and reference works. Great for historical research.
AJOL: African Scholarly Journals Online
The world's largest collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. If you cannot access an article, see if GVSU has access by searching for that journal on the library website ("Find"=> "Magazines and Journals").
Old Maps Online
The broadest single collection of historical maps. It acts as a central repository to a collection of maps held by institutions across the globe

Subjects: History

Tags: census_data, historical_newspapers, history