- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- History
- Latin American History
History: Latin American History
Use this guide to find information about topics in History
Databases
- HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Journal and magazine articles, reviews, book citations, documents, original literary works, and other materials focused on Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages.
- Latino American ExperienceLatino American Experience (LAE) focuses on the history and culture of Latinos living in the United States. LAE's content spans from pre-Columbian civilizations of the Americas through the present day. Includes research titles, images, primary documents, Spanish-language content, timeline, and vetted websites. In addition, LAE's Origins section features both ready-reference and in-depth information about the history, culture, and customs of the people of Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula.
Websites
- LLILAS Digital CollectionsDeveloped by the University of Texas, this site features online collections and archives relating to topics in Latin American Studies, such as indigenous languages, Guatemalan National Police Archive, the Castro speech database and much more!
- Latin American Open Archives PortalThe portal provides access to working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials from the "deep Web." Typically, this content is published by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies.
- Borderlands EncyclopediaUniversity of Texas' online resource
- Digital Library of the CaribbeanA collection of maps, newspapers, and other digital artifacts from the Caribbean.
- JSRI Migrant Labor PublicationsPublications, books, and resources related to migrant labor issues. Presented by the Julian Samora Research Institute at Michigan State University.
- Latin American Network Information CenterUniversity of Texas gateway to Latin American countries and academic networks. The foremost internet directory for Latin America.
- Voice of the ShuttleList of resources on African American studies compiled by UCSB.
- Latin American Pamphlet Digital CollectionDigitized collection of pamphlets owned by Harvard University
- Old Maps OnlineThe broadest single collection of historical maps. It acts as a central repository to a collection of maps held by institutions across the globe
- Internet Modern History SourcebookIncludes primary sources on colonial Latin America
Subjects: History
- Last Updated: Jan 21, 2025 2:16 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/history
