Grand Valley State University has its own Special Collections & University Archives with a mission to collect, preserve, and share rare and distinguished book collections, historical records, photographs, media, and artwork to support excellent teaching, high-impact student learning, and active scholarship at Grand Valley State University. 

Special Collections and University Archives is located in Seidman House, on the Allendale Campus. Seidman House is open M-F 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Appointments are not necessary, but it may save you time to contact the staff ahead of time to prepare for your visit. Contact Leigh Rupinski at rupinskl@gvsu.edu to set up a research visit, or just drop by and the friendly staff can help!

Access the Guide to Special Collections & University Archives here.

GVSU’s Special Collections and University Archives department is a resource center dedicated to providing access to unique and historic materials. We support students, faculty, staff, and other researchers in a multitude of activities including:

• Designing class assignments
• Completing research papers and projects
• Investigating the history of Grand Valley State University
• Pursuing scholarly research

Special Collections includes rare books, political papers, literary and historical manuscripts, maps and atlases, photographs and media, art, artifacts and ephemera on a variety of topics.

University Archives consists of Institutional records, documents, and publications pertaining to more than 50 years of Grand Valley State University history