- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- History
- African-American History
History: African-American History
Use this guide to find information about topics in History
Subject Guide on Slave Narratives
Databases
These databases specifically focus on African American Studies.
- African American ExperienceThe African American Experience (AAE) is a full-text resource exploring the history and culture of African Americans, as well as the greater Black Diaspora. Includes research titles, slave narratives, images, primary sources, and vetted websites.
- allAfricaallAfrica aggregates news from over one hundred African news and media organizations. Content is in both English and French and is updated daily.
- Black Studies CenterBlack Studies Center consists of scholarly journals, commissioned overview essays by top scholars in Black Studies, historic indexes, and The Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975. At the heart of Black Studies Center is Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, consisting of essays that provide an introduction to major topics in Black Studies. Black Studies Center provides the historical full-text of one of the most influential black newspapers in the United States, The Chicago Defender. Coverage: 1900 - current.
- Black Thought and CultureA collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American Black leaders.
- Chicago Defender (1909-1975)The most important black metropolitan newspaper in America. GVSU coverage includes full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Websites
- Academy of AchievementListing of leaders from the arts, business, public service, science, sports, and more. Includes interviews, background facts, and videos.
- African American Odyssey: A Quest for Full CitizenshipFrom the Library of Congress, information about the early national period through the twentieth century.
- Black Abolitionist ArchiveDigital collection of 800-plus speeches and writings, including some 1,000 editorials, by African American abolitionists from the antebellum period.
- Black HistoryA collection of historical articles and images from Harper's Weekly
- Black PastThe largest free website on African American history currently online. Contributed articles are reviewed by a board of scholarly advisors and cover a variety of topics.
- Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern ActivistsThis digital collection of primary sources includes sound and video recordings, photographs, and documents.
- Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the University of North Carolina.
- Encyclopedia Britannica's Guide to Black HistoryCollection of articles on famous figures and events in African American history
- Harlem HistoryPresents a wealth of archival treasures and scholarship from Columbia about the history of one of the world's most influential neighborhoods.
- The History MakersThe nation's largest African American video oral history archive
- Mapping Inequality: Redlining in AmericaInteractive maps showing redlining-- the practice of grading neighborhoods to reinforce housing discrimination. Includes GR!!
- Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education InstituteInformation from the institute at Stanford University
- PBS BiographiesFind videos and information about historical and contemporary individuals featured in PBS programming through the years.
- Robert Langmuir African American PhotographsFrom Emory University, a collection of photos from the 1840's- 1980's
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Users worldwide can find, in this virtual Schomburg Center, exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
- Slave MovementProvides access to raw data and documentation which contains information on slave trade topics from the 1700s-1800's.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade DatabaseCompiled by Emory University, this site contains essays, estimates, maps and other resources related to the slave trade.
- UMBRAA national collection of digital materials—images, videos, books, and more. Materials displayed in Umbra are provided by libraries, museums, and other repositories around the country.
- Underground Railroad Primary SourcesImages and documents from this era in African American history.
Subjects: History
- Last Updated: Jan 21, 2025 2:16 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/history
