This handout provides information and guidance on basic computer literacy skills such as basic terminology, how to use common accessories (mouse/keyboard), and how to perform actions on a tablet.

A compilation of policies, documents, and resources provided by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) to aid and educate faculty teaching students with disabilities in higher education.

This site provides guides on specific strategies such as note-taking, studying for exams, online learning, and reading.

This article provides a concise guide to identify areas of computer literacy that professionals must be competent in, in today’s professional world. It also provides tips to improve computer literacy. This guide may be useful to help students understand the importance of computer literacy and support them in improving their skills.

Vanderbilt University created this concise guide of strategies to create a more inclusive classroom. It also provides resources to explore more specific aspects of these tips.

This guide describes best practices and standards in creating web-delivered content to ensure that it is accessible to a broad range of disabilities, including sensory, intellectual, learning and physical disabilities.

A humorous short video created by ASU that promotes the use of faculty office hours by students.“Are you one of the millions of college students who suffer from stress, sleep deprivation, or an Academic Status Report denial? Then you may have Fear of Meeting One-on-One with My Professor or FMOOWMP. FOH, or Faculty Office Hours at Arizona State University can help.”

An opinion piece written by the recipient of a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant tasked with creating programming to support underrepresented minority STEM PhD students in their academics, career development, and wellbeing. Here she shares helpful tips and strategies she learned through this project.

This article discusses trends in the preparedness of students entering higher education and a model for advising and supporting underprepared students.

Computer Literacy is an important predictor for how proficient a person is in its interaction with computers, which can determine whether a person is motivated and able to use specific software… In this paper, we describe an experiment to test the design of a system that extracts elements of Computer Literacy based on observation of human-computer interaction.

When it comes to student trauma, there is much that is beyond educators' power, but there is also a great deal they can do to build a supportive and sensitive classroom environment. Here, author Jessica Minahan shares eight practical strategies teachers can use to help these students feel safe and ready to learn. In one example, she explains how to teach students in crisis to "switch the channel" with cognitive distractions. In another example, she illustrates how creating "islands of competence" can help combat the poor self-concept and negative thinking associated with trauma.

As academic advisors, it is important for us to create a comfortable, student-centered approach to advising that focuses on each student individually – their past experiences, their current life situations and academic needs, and their goals relative to careers and employment

The needs of students who enter college underprepared transcend academic preparation. These students require an array of student services that will support them in their quest to achieve the academic and personal skills necessary for college-level coursework and academic success.

To learn about the different ways the University Libraries can support inclusive instruction, meet with your liaison librarian to discuss assignment design, course materials, and information literacy instruction.

You’re always welcome to browse the library’s collection and incorporate library resources into your classroom. If you’re looking for materials pertaining to equity and inclusion, get started in the Libraries’ Equity Collection

FTLC offers resources and funding to help support and improve faculty teaching and learning. They provide many learning opportunities to educators with the goal of creating a culture of teaching excellence at GVSU.

SLA features weekly study and practice workshops in which students master course content to develop and apply specific learning strategies for the course, as well as strengthen their study skills to improve performance in the current SLA course, and for future courses.

The Student Academic Success Center offers a variety of resources for students specific to academic skills including online learning, time management, stress management, test taking, memory and concentration and more.

Free tutoring resources specific to subject areas and certain university courses are offered to GVSU students through the tutoring center

This site provides many free courses and certificate programs for a wide range of educational areas including IT, Health, Business, Construction and Engineering, and Teaching and Academics.

A platform of courses offered by top universities aimed at continuing education for professionals and the general public. Many courses are offered for free, however, some courses, degrees and certificates on this site require a fee.

Crash course provides free, high-quality educational videos on a variety of topics from humanities to science. Short videos are organized into “courses” with the goal of accompanying high school and college level courses of the same disciplines.

A popular and free catalog of videos that support the learning of K-12 and early college educational topics.

A collection of web resources and materials aimed at supporting learners and educators of all educational levels in science-related subject areas such as chemistry, biology, mathematics, and computing.

A database of free online course offerings from universities such as Harvard, Yale, MIT, Oxford and more, organized by topic. This site also provides free open resources such as movies, ebooks, and podcasts and provides paths to complete certificates and mini-degrees.

This site provides free educational resources aimed at improving skills related to the arts, creativity, productivity, entrepreneurship and more.