- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Political Science
- Country Information
Political Science: Country Information
Subject Guide for Political Science
Databases
- Business Source UltimateComprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)International affairs database with working papers, journal articles, books, policy papers and more from a wide variety of sources. Most of the resources in this database are available full text.
Websites
- BBC News Country Profiles"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives."
- Background Notes (U.S. Dep't of State)"Background Notes are factual publications that include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty."
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.
- Country Studies (Library of Congress)"The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world."
- Election GuideCreated by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems "ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information and results available online."
- Foreign Government Websites (Northwestern University)Access links to the official websites of foreign governments, as well as links to specific agency websites.
- International Monetary Fund: Country InformationAccess IMF reports and publications arranged by country.
- List of Foreign GovernmentsNorthwestern University Libraries' alphabetical list of government websites
- Nations of the World (Library of Congress)Access information on countries' government, as well as more generalized information.
- State Department Post ReportsProvides a view of living, housing, and health conditions in countries, as well as recreational, cultural, and employment opportunities and an overview of the history, geography, demography, and political conditions.
- UNdata (United Nations)This portal that allows you to search across multiple UN statistical databases at once.
- UNdata Country ProfilesProvides statistical summaries of individual countries.
- World Bank: Countries and RegionsAccess Country Briefs, overviews, statistics and other World Bank publications on countries around the world.
Country Codes for internet searching
You can search individual domains on Google using site:. followed directly by the domain, like .org or .gov, or by country using he country code.
For example, to search for population information about Zambia, search site:.zm population statistics
Constitutions Sources on the Internet
- Constitute Project"Constitute includes the currently-in-force constitution for nearly every independent state in the world, as well as some draft and historical texts."
- International Constitutional Law"International Constitutional Law (ICL) provides English translations of and other textual material related to constitutional documents. It cross-references those documents for quick comparison of constitutional provisions."
Subjects: Political Science
- Last Updated: Dec 4, 2024 10:41 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/pls
