In accordance with the executive order of Governor Whitmer, all University Libraries buildings are closed until further notice. We continue to provide support online for GVSU students, faculty, and staff through our online services.
Special Collections & University Archives: Home
Welcome to the Subject Guide for Special Collections & University Archives! You can find information here on how to access our resources online, how to conduct research at the Archives, the differences between primary and secondary sources, and more. Still have questions? Send me a message! I'm happy to help.
What is Special Collections and University Archives?
GVSU’s Special Collections and University Archives department is a resource center dedicated to providing access to unique and historic materials. We support students, faculty, staff, and other researchers in a multitude of activities including:
- Designing class assignments
- Completing research papers and projects
- Investigating the history of Grand Valley State University
- Pursuing scholarly research
Special Collections includes rare books, political papers, literary and historical manuscripts, maps and atlases, photographs and media, art, artifacts and ephemera on a variety of topics.
University Archives consists of Institutional records, documents, and publications pertaining to more than 50 years of Grand Valley State University history
Special Collections & University archives collects, preserves, makes accessible, and promotes institutional records, manuscripts and documents, rare and unique book collections, photographs, media, art and artifacts in support of the teaching, research, and service mission of Grand Valley State University.
Need a Quiet Place to Study?
Seidman House features a large quiet study area for students with floor to ceiling windows that overlook the wooded ravines, open work tables, and comfortable seating!