- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Materials for Engineers
- Materials by Properties
Materials for Engineers: Materials by Properties
Materials Search Tip
Researching materials often equates to searching on substances, including chemical elements. To expedite searches on substances while reducing possible confusion among similar names or formulas, you can take advantage of the many international nomenclatures for substances. At the very least, knowing the standard chemical formula, molecular weight, and synonyms facilitates searching in databases. Many of these databases apply one or more classification systems such as:
In many chemistry databases, you also can perform searches by drawing the chemical structure in a graphic engine.
Properties Search Engines And Sources
- Knovel Properties SearchSearch on specific properties or parameters to locate materials based on their properties or performance.
- Knovel Critical TablesOver 40 interactive tables and charts as well as text summaries of properties of materials.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookCompiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), enables searching on physical properties and various tools and screens.
- Materials ProjectFrom MIT and subtitled the Materials Genome project, six apps that enable materials searching by properties, reactions, and other features.
- MatWeb Materials Properties SearchEnables searching on manufacturers' product sheets by properties.
Chemical Element And Substance Gateways
These tools enable searching by chemical name, CAS Registry Number, formula, and other characteristics. Some enable searching by drawing chemical structures and can be good sources of structural images.
- ChemIDPlusA free web search system that provides access to the structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET system.
- ChemSpiderFrom the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & PhysicsPrint: Mary Idema Pew Main Stacks & ASRS QD65 .H3 (multiple editions)
- PubChemPart of NCBI's suite of Entrez databases, chemistry database with a biomedical focus. Includes links to PubMed, MeSH, GENE, and protein databanks.
- Last Updated: Aug 30, 2024 10:33 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/egrmaterials
