- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Materials for Engineers
- Polymers/Plastics
Materials for Engineers: Polymers/Plastics
Locating Sources on Polymers & Plastics
In the GVSU Libraries, relevant subject headings include:
- Polymers
- Plastics - considered a subset of polymers
- Specific groups of polymers, including Plastics, Biopolymers. Fullerene Polymers, Polyolefins, Rubber, or Plant Polymers
- Specific properties, e.g. Polymers – Electric Properties or Polymers – Optical Properties
- Specific effects or issues, e.g. Polymers - Flammability or Polymers - Deterioration
- Manufacturing processes involving polymers and plastics, e.g. Injection Molding of Plastics
Articles And Index Databases
Relevant materials are also available in the broader index and abstract databases listed on the Articles & Databases page.
- Polymers: A Properties DatabaseUse to search for chemical identification information on polymers and monomers. GVSU does not subscribe to the restricted content but the chemical ID information can be used in other databases.
- MatWeb Polymer Film Search EngineEnables searching on film grade polymer resins based on physical properties.
Handbooks and Other References
- Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology, 3rd ed. (2004)Print: Mary Idema Pew ASRS, v. 1-4
- Handbook of Plastics TechnologiesPrint: Steelcase ASRS TA455.P5 H37 2006
- ASTM Standards Section 8: PlasticsNOTE: GVSU does not presently own a current set of ASTM Standards; please contact the Engineering Librarian to have individual standards purchased for your use.
- MatWeb Composite Material Data Sheets (MDS)Covers polymer/plastic composites.
Other Sources
- The Plastics CollectionFrom Syracuse University, images, archives, company information, books, and a time-line, all relating to the manufacturing and use of plastics.
Subjects: Engineering
- Last Updated: Jul 26, 2024 9:38 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/egrmaterials
