Materials for Engineers: Manufacturing & Production
Manufacturing Methods for Materials
While materials are involved in all manufacturing processes, certain processes focus very much on the transformation and manipulation of materials, A sampling are shown here, with links in BLC WorldCat to sample literature about them. Note: in the Library of Congress Classification Subject Headings often list manufacturing processes as a sub-heading of a materials group or product, e.g. Ceramic Materials -- Machining or Plastics -- Molding.
Technical standards and handbooks often describe manufacturing processes in detail.
Handbooks and Other References
- Knovel This link opens in a new windoweHandbooks on manufacturing processes involving materials.
- Materials Handbook: An encyclopedia for managers, technical professionals, et al.Print: Steelcase Reference TA403 .B75
Product Literature and Cost Information
- IQS Resource DirectoryIQS Directory is a free, comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada.
- MatWeb: Online Materials Information ResourceSearchable collection of links to material datasheets from manufacturers and professional societies covering a wide range of materials. The Knovel eBook collection also contains MatWeb data.
- Protomold Injection MoldingA provider of low- to mid-volume quantities of injection-molded parts very quickly. Typical quantities are 10 to 10,000+ pieces and typical lead times are one to 15 business days. Protomold helps product developers get real parts that are suitable for functional testing or final use, in days. (NOT free!)
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers (ThomasNet)ThomasNet is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Includes product, company, and brand name searching and access to industry specific searching.
Chemical Price Information
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowThe Substances search module includes recent prices and manufacturers contact information. Requires setting up a personal SciFinder account to access.
- Sigma-Aldrich Chem Product CentralMajor distributor of chemical supplies, includes price information for most products.
- eMolecules.comProvides downloadable software for accessing prices for over 8 million chemicals. Requires a subscription (not offered by Tufts) but a trial version is available. eMolecule data is linked to substance records in the Reayxs database (search for a substance, then click the Availability icon to view links to supplier sites.
- Thomas Register of American ManufacturersLinks to manufacturers' websites, including companies in over 30 chemical subcategories.
- Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN)From the American Chemical Society (ACS), weekly trade publication which includes coverage of price trends. The Business section includes periodic "Facts and Figures" reports which contain information on pricing and shipments.
- ICIS Chemical BusinessWeekly bulletin focused on all aspects of the chemical industry. Includes articles on specific substances and price trends.
- ProQuest Materials Science CollectionAbstracts and full-text of trade publications which include coverage of pricing and other business indicators. Includes the Materials Business File.
- Last Updated: Feb 28, 2023 1:29 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/egrmaterials