- University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Hospitality & Tourism Management
- HTM 495 (Sciarini)
Hospitality & Tourism Management: HTM 495 (Sciarini)
Welcome to the HTM 495 Subject Guide!
This course guide provides resources to assist you in completing the Strategic Analysis of an Organization Memo. For more help you can send me an email or visit the Knowledge Market.
Find Codes & Symbols
Mission Statements and Company Values
The best place to find mission statements and company values is likely to be the company's website. You'll still need to cite your source - an example citing the mission statement found on the Starbucks website is below. For more information watch the short video below, or, see this post on citing webpages on a website from the APA Style blog.
Citation Example:
Starbucks Corporation. (2021). Our company. Starbucks Coffee Company. https://www.starbucks.com/about-us/
APA Citation Style
- APA Citation Style GuideShort videos on each type of citation & links to APA citation guides.
- Citing Business Databases & Government Data in APA StyleThis is an extensive list of business sources and their sample APA citations from award-winning UNCG librarian, Steve Cramer.
- Business Citations APA 7th edition (West Virginia University)Provides various example entries including reports, company profiles, and dossiers.
Competitive Environment & Company Information
- Mergent IntellectCompetitor Lists, Financials, First Research Industry Reports
- Capital IQTo access content within the CapIQ database users must create an account using their GVSU email. Company profiles, in-depth global data for 17 industries, and data related to inflation, employment, GDP, trade, currency and more.
- Business Source UltimateFeatures company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports also included.
- MINTEL AcademicIndustry, Demographic, and Environmental Reports
- StatistaIndustry Reports, Consumer and Demographic Statistics
- Mergent Market AtlasMERGENT MARKET ATLAS WILL REPLACE MERGENT ONLINE AFTER DECEMBER 2024.
Mergent Market Atlas provides tools for both interactive online research and easy predefined report access. These tools and reports are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country and Economic analysis.
The Market Atlas database of corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Find Articles, SWOT reports, and more using Find It!
If you did not find what you need in one of the databases above, or you would like a narrative article to help you understand your company, try searching for articles in the library search box (look for the button that says "FIND IT!" at the top of any page of the library website). The tips below will help you locate specific items in Find It!
Find Company Profiles or SWOT Reports using Find It!
Enter your company name and the type of report you are looking for. For example, a search for "Marriott" AND "company profile" will return several company profiles for Marriott International, Inc. Searching "Marriott" AND "SWOT" will return several SWOT reports for Marriott. Search "Marriott" AND "market research" to get market research studies on Marriott. Select "reports" under the "Content Type" filter on the left side of your screen for better results.
Find Articles about your Company or Industry using Find It!
Search using the Find It! box at the top of any page of the library website using the company or industry name and add keywords like "strategy," "trends," "growth," or "future." For example, "Marriott" AND "strategy" or "hotel industry trends." Further narrow by date, content type (Report or Trade Publication Articles), subject type (Example: Market Strategy) using the menus on the left side of your screen.
Researching the Employee Experience
The list below provides websites that help you gain greater insight on what it would be like to work for a specific company. Be wary that all of these will be biased and that in general, individuals may have greater motivation to leave a negative versus a positive review. Some of these resources will additionally provide salary information, although it may not be as accurate as database provided information.
Liaison Librarian (On Sabbatical Winter 2025)
Open Web Resources
- Hospitality & Tourism Professional Organizations
- Hospitality-Related Associations
- Hospitality Industry Association You Should Know
- CNN Travel
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
- World Tourism Organization
- Michigan Bureau of Labor Market Information
- Michigan Workforce Development - Data and Reports
- American Customer Satisfaction Index
- Salary.com
- Last Updated: Dec 19, 2024 10:14 AM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/HTM
