- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Hospitality & Tourism Management
- Food and Beverage Management (HTM 213)
Hospitality & Tourism Management: Food and Beverage Management (HTM 213)
Welcome!
Welcome to the Food and Beverage course guide! This page is designed to help you navigate key aspects of research related to the food and beverage industry, from suggested magazines to monitor new trends, to library tools and resources on restaurant concepts and marketing tools. Please feel free to contact your subject liaison Sheila García at garcishe@gvsu.edu if you have any questions, or contact the Knowledge Market.
What's New in Food & Beverage
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new windowMagazines in this database can be found by refining your search by "Source Type" and choosing "Magazines" and/or "Trade Publications.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ProQuest Business Premium) This link opens in a new windowMagazines and trade journals in this database can be found by refining your search by "Source Type" and choosing, "Magazines" and/or "Trade Journals"
- Lodging Magazine - Food and BeverageLODGING is the official publication of the American Hotel and Lodging Association (AHLA)
- Food and Beverage MagazineFood and Beverage is an online popular magazine. While their audience is the general population, they provide up-to-date articles on the F&B industry.
- Corp! MagazineThe Food and Agriculture section of this online magazine provides articles about the Michigan food industry.
- Green Lodging NewsCreated in 2006, Green Lodging News highlights suppliers and the latest information on environmental lodging news.
Labor Costs
- Wages by Area and OccupationProvide information on wages by occupation, state and metropolitan area.
- Michigan Labor Market Data SearchInteractive data tool where data may be broken down by year, industry, occupation, geography, and other factors depending on data series and availability.
Marketing and Demographic Data
The databases provided here are powerful tools for finding data and information related to different populations. Some databases, such as Data-Planet Statistical Dataset, allow you to pull data by zip code, which allows you to understand consumer behavior and expectations within the confines of specific geographical areas. Datasets provided through Statista are more general in scope, but can assist in understanding consumer attitudes. Business Source Ultimate and WARC, are both databases that provide marketing tools, resources, as well as marketing research reports.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German and Spanish. The platform consists over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
- WARC (World Advertising Research Center) This link opens in a new windowAdvertising database includes case studies, best practices, market intelligence, major brands, ad/spend statistics, demographics, & campaign videos in all areas of marketing communications.
Local Resources
- Experience GR - Restaurant SearchThis site allows you to search for dining experiences in Grand Rapids by neighborhood, cuisine type, and type of service.
- Grand Rapids Downtown Dining MapThis is a PDF downtown Grand Rapids dining guide.
- Michigan Food Processors AssociationThis site providers a Buyers Guide, as well as information about Michigan Processors and Suppliers
- Michigan Food Law and Food CodeProvides the 2009 Modified Food Code, as well as a Food Law Q&A and a reference sheet on the 2012 key changes to the Food Code.
- Site Selector: Michigan Economic Development CorporationProvides maps, business data, and demographics for site locations, as well as community infographics.
- Michigan Restaurant & Lodging AssociationProvides HR and governmental resources, as well as access to their online magazine, a buyers guide, and webinars.
Restaurant Concepts/Design
The Restaurant by
Restaurant owners will continue to turn to The Restaurant because it helps them gain the skills needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Each chapter has been revised, updated, and enhanced with numerous industry examples, sidebars, charts, tables, photographs, and menus. Greater emphasis is placed on restaurant business plans, restaurant management, and restaurant operations. The themes of sustainability and sustainable restaurant management have been added throughout. New sections have also been included on purchasing meat, cocktails, and the early history of eating out. All of this information will help restaurant owners make the decisions necessary to build a thriving business.
ISBN: 9780470626436Publication Date: 2010-11-02
Restaurants that Work by
Restaurants That Work presents a complete run-down on how successful restaurateurs, teaming up with architects and designers, ply their craft. It answers the questions: How does a freshman restaurateur without any prior experience decide what type of restaurant to open? Where should it be located? Who is the potential customer and competition? What type of food should be offered, and at what price? What should the restaurant look like? Martin E. Dorf has created an essential sourcebook for restaurateurs, consultants, and design professionals. Restaurants That Work presents 18 in-depth case studies of such successful restaurants as Scoozi, Union Square Cafe, and Chinois, along with personal interviews with their owners, chefs, architects, designers, kitchen planners, and consultants. The book explores all the ingredients that contribute to the success of a restaurant, including concept and menu development, site selection, space planning and design, construction costs, kitchen planning, staff selection, and management techniques. In addition, the book features invaluable information on building codes, utility requirements, and construction costs analysis, as well as a special appendix on disability-related access laws.
ISBN: 9780823045402Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Wine and Space by
This publication takes a look at the rooms where wine is tasted and enjoyed. It highlights a variety of projects, ranging from winemakers' tasting rooms and salesrooms to more unusual shop concepts and successful examples taken from the gastronomy sector. To provide a glimpse into the development of a design, the authors engage intensively with the architects and contractors to explore the following questions: How did those involved contribute and combine their ideas? What story is told by the project as it begins to take shape? What kind of customers does it appeal to and how should they react to it? Additional essays illustrate how designs are influenced by functional factors, as well as the role played by materials, colour, light, and indeed the spatial concept as a whole in the process of wine tasting.
ISBN: 9783955532420Publication Date: 2015-04-24
Detail in Contemporary Bar and Restaurant Design by
Bars and restaurants need to be assertive. Customers tend not to visit them to satisfy basic appetites for food or drink but for the social opportunities. Their interiors need to occupy the imagination of their customers and to whet the appetite for a return visit. The design that gets the formula right will do as much to prolong the life of the business as the products on offer. This book includes a wide range of international projects and for each one there is a descriptive text, color photographs, floor plans, sections and construction, and decorative details. A bonus CD-ROM contains all the drawings as printed in the book, in both EPS and DWG (generic CAD) formats.
ISBN: 9781780670607Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Human Resources
- HR MagazineThis journal publishes articles on issues pertaining to human resource management.
- Human Resources ManagementThis journal contains articles on theories, techniques, case studies, and trends for practicing managers.
- Michigan Labor & Employment Law OverviewGeneral overview of Michigan labor and employee laws including leave, wages, & accommodation.
Subjects: Hospitality & Tourism Management
- Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/HTM
