- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Hospitality & Tourism Management
- Facilities Management (HTM 333)
Hospitality & Tourism Management: Facilities Management (HTM 333)
Welcome!
Welcome to the Facilities Management course guide! This page is designed to help you navigate key aspects of research related to facilities management, from finding demographic data, to library tools and resources on sustainability and capital projects. Please feel free to contact your subject liaison Sheila García at garcishe@gvsu.edu if you have any questions, or contact the Knowledge Market.
Recommended Databases
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new windowCovers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ProQuest Business Premium) This link opens in a new windowCompany, industry, and markets articles, reports, and analysis. Includes the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and the Economist, as well as Hoovers company records.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE searches for information in all areas related to the human impact on the environment.
- Consumer ReportsConsumer Reports uses careful research, consumer insights, journalism, and policy expertise to help you inform purchase decisions.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly, academic coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas.
Relevant Video Resources
- Operations Management: A Hotel Case StudyViewers follow the general manager, food and beverage manager, executive chef, and executive housekeeper as they maintain and monitor the hotel's workflow
- Health, Safety, and Security in the Hospitality IndustryReviews health, safety, and security concerns unique to the hospitality industry, explains how to handle them, and offers ways to reduce the likelihood of them occurring at all.
Marketing and Demographic Data
The databases provided here are powerful tools for finding data and information related to different populations. Some databases, such as Data-Planet Statistical Dataset, allow you to pull data by zip code, which allows you to understand consumer behavior and expectations within the confines of specific geographical areas. Datasets provided through Statista are more general in scope, but can assist in understanding consumer attitudes. Business Source Ultimate and WARC, are both databases that provide marketing tools, resources, as well as marketing research reports.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German and Spanish. The platform consists over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowSage Data is a collection of U.S. and international datasets sourced from governmental, commercial, and private organizations. Sage Data allows you to search and browse billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized exportable charts and tables. Each dataset also has a detailed description, including information about its source organization and update frequency.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
- WARC (World Advertising Research Center) This link opens in a new windowAdvertising database includes case studies, best practices, market intelligence, major brands, ad/spend statistics, demographics, & campaign videos in all areas of marketing communications.
Local Resources
- Green Grand RapidsThe City of Grand Rapids identifies sustainability as one of six core values in its Strategic Plan.
- Grand Rapids 2030 District Annual ReportThe Grand Rapids 2030 District is a public-private partnership committed to
creating high-performing buildings and smart mobility options that drawdown carbon in Grand Rapids' built environment. - Michigan Battle of the BuildingsThe Michigan Battle of the Buildings is an awards and recognition program for energy use reduction open to all Michigan area commercial, industrial & multi-family buildings.
- Michigan Recycling CoalitionRepresents recycling and composting interests statewide. A recognized authority on waste reduction, beneficial utilization, recycling, and composting.
- Site Selector: Michigan Economic Development CorporationProvides maps, business data, and demographics for site locations, as well as community infographics.
- Michigan Restaurant & Lodging AssociationProvides HR and governmental resources, as well as access to their online magazine, a buyers guide, and webinars.
Facility Management Books
Facilities Management by
This book will cover the essential role and responsibilities of the facilities manager as it pertains to building maintenance. Facilities management is a broad-based discipline that calls into play architectural, construction, engineering, and management and human skills, particularly for running and maintaining commercial, institutional, academic, and industrial buildings. If you're a newcomer to facilities management you will find this book an excellent introduction to managing maintenance. Already an established professional? You'll be able to brush up on the latest technological and regulatory trends affecting how complex facilities should be successfully maintained by way of risk assessment. The book contains ample, ready-to-use assessment forms and resources for extended practical information. Highlights include: Coverage of key components of facilities maintenance management including risk management, building safety, operations and purchasing, staffing, and more. Guidance on new trends including 'lean building maintenance' and Green Building specs (Green Spec) like LEED as well as guidance on legal contracts, safety regulations, energy efficiency, and more. The author also details specific management guidance by building type including apartments, office buildings, hotels and resorts, government buildings, schools, transport facilities, and many others.
ISBN: 9781606503263Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Hospitality Security by
A security director must have knowledge of criminal and civil law, risk and personnel management, budgeting and finance, and a host of other areas in order to be effective. Hospitality Security: Managing Security in Today's Hotel, Lodging, Entertainment, and Tourism Environment provides experience-based, proven methods for preventing and resolving the challenges faced by today's hospitality practitioner. Designed for both novice security professionals and industry veterans in need of a reference, the book covers: Risk assessment, where threats and vulnerabilities are calculated with probabilities to determine risk The security plan, where you decide how to apply various layers of control to mitigate the risks Budgeting: the amount of money available to implement the plan determines the next step Policies: how to document policies into a security manual, training manual, emergency procedures manual, and incident action plan Staffing: scheduling, wages, deployment, and contract security Training, including specialized topics such as use of force and bike patrol Physical security and patrol procedures Alarm and camera systems and various software programs Emergency procedures and response Investigations, interviews, and crime analysis Executive skills: learning from proven leadership styles Ideal for novices and veterans alike, this accessible, reader-friendly primer enables security directors to evaluate what risks are inherent to hospitality environments, analyze those risks through threat and vulnerability assessments, and develop methods to mitigate or eliminate them--all the while keeping customers and personnel safe and improving the bottom line.
ISBN: 9781439874363Publication Date: 2012-05-29
Managing Hospitality Facilities by
Managing Hospitality Facilities discusses the basic concept of hospitality and the management of food and beverage department. It includes the idea of laundry management, and planning and design process in the field of hospitality. This book also discusses about safety and hospitality management along with the technological advancements in the management of hospitality industry, the concept of customer satisfaction and sustainability and also the need analysis for training in the hospitality industry. It provides the reader with basic insights of managing the hospitality facilities so as to understand various concepts related to the field of hospitality such as laundry management and need analysis.
ISBN: 9781774075951Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Disaster Planning and Preparedness in the Hotel Industry by
Disasters experienced by the hospitality industry have steadily increased over the past few decades, and the industry has emerged as one of the most vulnerable businesses to disasters and emergencies, with a wave of catastrophic events striking it in recent years. Disaster management has become a vital tool as key industry players seek ways to cope with these unexpected events. Disaster Planning and Preparedness in the Hotel Industry reveals that a majority of hotels are not financially capable to prepare and train personnel, and unable to afford financing activities or disaster and emergency preparedness plans and programs. Furthermore, it finds that although emergencies bring about trauma and hardship in hotels, they are at the same time establishing a re-engineered life cycle. The book goes on to suggest that for hotels to be well managed and adequately prepared for emergency, all stakeholders should be engaged in removing setbacks and barriers to effective disaster and emergency management and planning. It concludes that Jordanian hotel managers and stakeholders should establish a well detailed emergency planning and preparedness schedule and outline details of the collaborative management plan for emergency cases. By identifying major emergencies that have occurred in the hotel industry; investigating hotels' preparation for emergencies in the past; and exploring how hotels manage and overcome such emergencies; this book will increase the awareness of emergency managers and scholars on how to read, manage, and overcome the impact of emergencies in the hospitality industry.
ISBN: 9781787699380Publication Date: 2019-02-04
Capital Projects
- Planning and Permits for Commercial Building ProjectsThis guide is for architects, engineers, or developers planning a new or expanded commercial building in Grand Rapids, MI.
- Planning and Permits for Commercial Renovation ProjectsThis guide is for architects, engineers, or developers planning to renovate the interior or exterior of an existing commercial building in Grand Rapids, MI.
- Home Improvement Reference CenterIncludes maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, etc. Includes more than 130 reference books.
Subjects: Hospitality & Tourism Management
- Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/HTM
