- Grand Valley State University
- Subject Guides
- Hospitality & Tourism Management
- Adv. Food & Beverage Management (HTM 413)
Hospitality & Tourism Management: Adv. Food & Beverage Management (HTM 413)
Welcome!
Welcome to the Advanced Food and Beverage Management course guide! This page is designed to help you navigate key aspects of research related to food and beverage management, from information on cost control and purchase orders to library tools and resources related to sales and marking data. Please feel free to contact your subject liaison Sheila García at garcishe@gvsu.edu if you have any questions, or contact the Knowledge Market.
Supplier Information and Buying Guides
- Thomas.netThis website provides information on suppliers across various industries. Try searching "Food and Beverage" to find information about various national suppliers.
- Michigan Restaurant & Lodging AssociationProvides HR and governmental resources, as well as access to their online magazine, a buyers guide, and webinars.
- Michigan Food Processors AssociationThis site providers a Buyers Guide, as well as information about Michigan Processors and Suppliers.
Labor Costs
- Michigan Labor Market Data SearchInteractive data tool where data may be broken down by year, industry, occupation, geography, and other factors depending on data series and availability.
- Wages by Area and OccupationProvide information on wages by occupation, state and metropolitan area.
Local Resources
- Small Business Resource Center (GRPL)Located on the Lower Level of the Grand Rapids Main Library. Provides timely and reliable business information to start, manage, and grow a business.
- Michigan Local Food GuideThis 100+ page guide is a directory to local food businesses, like farms, restaurants, and more. This is a digital magazine with clickable links.
- Kent County Hospitality AssociationProvides a member directory, vendor information, access to meeting minutes, and current ongoing events/initiatives within Kent County.
Recommended Databases
These databases provide industry information and company profiles, as well as information related to business strategies, market research, as well as access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. This is a great starting point if you want to do a deep dive into a specific company in the food and beverage industry or identify additional tools to help understand cost and revenue control, as well as additional lectures on food and beverage management from a business perspective.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on all aspects of business related topics and 55 videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series. The database features company SWOT analyses and market research reports. Country reports are included in this database. This version of the resource is hosted on a specially designed interface for this content.
- MINTEL Academic This link opens in a new windowA U.K. database providing consumer market reports from Europe and the U.S. Strategies for reaching target market audiences in the following industry areas: food and drink, consumer goods, retail, finance, leisure and travel.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowFull company details, annual reports, 15 years of financials, company history, long term debt, SEC filings, country reports. Private Companies: use Private Company Search tab.
- Capital IQ This link opens in a new windowTo access content within the CapIQ database users must create an account using their GVSU email. The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep and broad global financial intelligence with an array of tools for analysis, ideation, and efficiency. This platform includes profiles for over 62,000 public companies and 4.4 million private companies, in-depth global data for 17 industries, and data related to inflation, employment, GDP, trade, currency and more.
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ProQuest Business Premium) This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive business offering, with global coverage in business and economics, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including the ABI/INFORM collection.
Recommended Journals
- Journal of Foodservice Business ResearchPublishes articles on management, marketing, finance, law, food technology, nutrition, psychology, information systems, anthropology, human resources, and more.
- Foodservice Equipment and SuppliesThe magazine for dealers and distributors of foodservice equipment and supplies, and for those who design foodservice facilities and specify equipment for multi-unit chain operations.
- Journal of FoodserviceDisseminates information about foodservice research, development, and technical operation.
- Food & Beverage Industry NewsFull text access for this database can be found in the databases Business Premium Collection and Business Source Ultimate.
- Beverage IndustryFeature articles, business profiles, interviews, commentary, and news on all aspects of production, marketing technology and distribution of beverages; product reviews and industry issues aimed at executives, managers and chemists in the industry.
- HR MagazineThis journal publishes articles on issues pertaining to human resource management.
Books
Principles of Food, Beverage, and Labor Cost Controls by ISBN: 9780470290927Publication Date: 2008-08-20
The Food Service Professionals Guide to Food Service Menus by ISBN: 9781601381101Publication Date: 2003-01-12
Open Web Resources
- Menus: The Art of DiningA digital collection from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, it features over 1,700 menu images.
- Industry Research from the National Restaurant AssociationIndustry fact sheets, state-by-state statistics, and reports on the states of the restaurant industry.
- Beer Institute - Industry InsightsAble to access some studies, reports, and statistics on U.S. beer production, and consumption.
- Wine Industry InsightsStatistics on the California wine industry, U.S. wine consumption, U.S. wine exports, and wine fact sheets.
Subjects: Hospitality & Tourism Management
- Last Updated: Apr 16, 2024 1:09 PM
- URL: https://libguides.gvsu.edu/HTM
